We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn University(Missoula)(Great Value!)
USD 147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
USD 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 93
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
USD 220
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Aire Motel(Missoula)
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194
USD 166
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
391
47
25
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
391
47
25
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackfoot rivercattle drivehorseback ridingfly fishingchuck wagon dinnerkids campmaster chefclay shootingaerial adventurewhite water raftingbald eaglesdining paviliondog sleddingspa treatmentsfloat tripgourmet foodhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I loved this resort! It was really outdoorsy and there were too many choices of what to do. My favorite thing was the white water rafting. My least favourite thing was the chuck wagon dinner, I liked it but when we went to MT it was bee season so we couldn't even eat and there was one other family there so it wasn't like a big dinner or anything.

Room Tip: It's good to sleep in the tents for 3 nights and the homes for another 3 days (split it up)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank melinak07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Melinak07,

I am so happy you loved our resort and all the endless activity choices, however not happy that the bees impacted your chuck wagon experience - those little guys love our chef's cooking as much as our other guests. We will seek ways to improve this experience for future guests (make sure the bees have some better options).

We look forward to a return trip and to welcome you back to our resort!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Paws Up is very pricey, but really like no other place I've been. We chose one of the "glamping" tents that comes with a camp butler. Staff is friendly & quick to respond. The dining tent in our camp was outstanding with its own personal chef & a multi course menu every night. Breakfast equally as good. Many activities to choose from. Fly fishing was great. We also did clay shooting & mountain biking. Finished with a wonderful massage at the spa. Everything is top notch. Only confusing thing is the tipping- you pay a 20% resort fee, but this doesn't seem to cover gratuities, although this wasn't really clear. I wished it was all included in one price as all the staff are great & this would have made it easier. Meals are included in the price, but had a bill presented at lunches in order to tip - price of lunch was $90 for 2 people! Besides that it is a wonderful place & I would love to go back someday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sween-Dilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Sween-Dilly,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am always thrilled to read that our guests were able to experience some of our many activities and meet our many talented and eager to serve staff. We hope to see you back again sometime soon to enjoy more food and check a few more of our activities of your bucket list!

Sinceerly,
Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Looking for an outdoor experience with a Butler? Look no further!
Climate controlled clamping tents amongst Eagles, Turkeys, Deer, Red Tail Hawks ...we enjoyed our Anniversary by cattle driving, river rafting, relaxing in the outdoor pavilions outfitted with huge fireplaces, a bar, fabulous river view from the patio at Cliffside and comfy leather chairs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I especially appreciated the Cowboy Poet, Steven, entertaining at the Chuckwagon dinner. Great demo by the James Beard award winning Chefs from Portland.
Beautiful vistas, Fun, new experiences... a dream vacation to cross off the Bucket a List!!! Get your Wrangler On!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank foodlova164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear foodlova164,

Thank you for joining us during on of our chef events! As a food lover you have to come back for one of our countless annual celebrations of food (wine makers, mixologists, baking, find dining, grilling...so much great food)! I am thrilled that you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again for great food and more getting you "wrangler on"!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We had a great time at Paws Up. We stayed at the Pinnacle Camp. Our room had one king size bed and two twins. Rooms are open to the other, don't expect any privacy. The bathroom does have a door. Our family consist of our 5 year old son and our 18 year old daughter, so it wasn't always possible to do everything as a family. However; my son and I went on the "white water' float trip and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We also went on the ATV's. (minus our son-he stayed at the kids camp). Because of the age restraints (for safety), i think we will wait until our son is 8 to return. Do try to plan your activities a day in advance. The staff was great!! They aim to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Our daughter is vegan and although difficult, they really did try to make her happy. The Trough is great for lunch!! You will definitely want to plan eating here for lunch. We also enjoyed a Chuck Wagon meal. This was my favorite meal.
At night, we enjoyed roasting marshmallows by the fire and fishing on the bank. The state of Montana is beautiful and I highly recommend Paws Up for Families or even church groups. We will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Unforgettable family trip! We visited Paws Up for 5 nights and stayed in the River Camp. Our butler Chris, morning chef Maddie and evening chef Clayton were amazing!! Anything we asked for was provided to us with a smile. If they didn't have something we requested they would offer to get it. And the smores every night at the campfire were a huge hit with the kids.
One complaint is that everything is extra- we went horseback riding every day and that was extra. For what it costs to stay, more things should be included.
But the biggest complaint is the tipping issue- as voiced by other reviewers. We were told tips were appreciated. With the price of each activity- we shouldn't even be allowed to tip. There should be a no tipping policy- especially if a service charge is added on to each activity. If the guests are encouraged to tip, then there shouldn't be a service charge.
With all that- it was an amazing trip and wish we could go back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank 889jodir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews