We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Resort at Paws Up
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Double Arrow Resort(Seeley Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Montana Pines Motel(Seeley Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Tamaracks Resort(Seeley Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drummond Motel(Drummond)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
388
45
24
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
388
45
24
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackfoot riverhorseback ridingfly fishingchuck wagon dinnerkids campmaster chefclay shootingmeal planaerial adventurewhite water raftingbald eaglesdining paviliondog sleddingspa treatmentsgourmet foodfloat triphot tub
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Paws Up is very pricey, but really like no other place I've been. We chose one of the "glamping" tents that comes with a camp butler. Staff is friendly & quick to respond. The dining tent in our camp was outstanding with its own personal chef & a multi course menu every night. Breakfast equally as good. Many activities to choose from. Fly fishing was great. We also did clay shooting & mountain biking. Finished with a wonderful massage at the spa. Everything is top notch. Only confusing thing is the tipping- you pay a 20% resort fee, but this doesn't seem to cover gratuities, although this wasn't really clear. I wished it was all included in one price as all the staff are great & this would have made it easier. Meals are included in the price, but had a bill presented at lunches in order to tip - price of lunch was $90 for 2 people! Besides that it is a wonderful place & I would love to go back someday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sween-Dilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Sween-Dilly,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am always thrilled to read that our guests were able to experience some of our many activities and meet our many talented and eager to serve staff. We hope to see you back again sometime soon to enjoy more food and check a few more of our activities of your bucket list!

Sinceerly,
Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Looking for an outdoor experience with a Butler? Look no further!
Climate controlled clamping tents amongst Eagles, Turkeys, Deer, Red Tail Hawks ...we enjoyed our Anniversary by cattle driving, river rafting, relaxing in the outdoor pavilions outfitted with huge fireplaces, a bar, fabulous river view from the patio at Cliffside and comfy leather chairs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I especially appreciated the Cowboy Poet, Steven, entertaining at the Chuckwagon dinner. Great demo by the James Beard award winning Chefs from Portland.
Beautiful vistas, Fun, new experiences... a dream vacation to cross off the Bucket a List!!! Get your Wrangler On!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank foodlova164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear foodlova164,

Thank you for joining us during on of our chef events! As a food lover you have to come back for one of our countless annual celebrations of food (wine makers, mixologists, baking, find dining, grilling...so much great food)! I am thrilled that you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again for great food and more getting you "wrangler on"!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We had a great time at Paws Up. We stayed at the Pinnacle Camp. Our room had one king size bed and two twins. Rooms are open to the other, don't expect any privacy. The bathroom does have a door. Our family consist of our 5 year old son and our 18 year old daughter, so it wasn't always possible to do everything as a family. However; my son and I went on the "white water' float trip and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We also went on the ATV's. (minus our son-he stayed at the kids camp). Because of the age restraints (for safety), i think we will wait until our son is 8 to return. Do try to plan your activities a day in advance. The staff was great!! They aim to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Our daughter is vegan and although difficult, they really did try to make her happy. The Trough is great for lunch!! You will definitely want to plan eating here for lunch. We also enjoyed a Chuck Wagon meal. This was my favorite meal.
At night, we enjoyed roasting marshmallows by the fire and fishing on the bank. The state of Montana is beautiful and I highly recommend Paws Up for Families or even church groups. We will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Unforgettable family trip! We visited Paws Up for 5 nights and stayed in the River Camp. Our butler Chris, morning chef Maddie and evening chef Clayton were amazing!! Anything we asked for was provided to us with a smile. If they didn't have something we requested they would offer to get it. And the smores every night at the campfire were a huge hit with the kids.
One complaint is that everything is extra- we went horseback riding every day and that was extra. For what it costs to stay, more things should be included.
But the biggest complaint is the tipping issue- as voiced by other reviewers. We were told tips were appreciated. With the price of each activity- we shouldn't even be allowed to tip. There should be a no tipping policy- especially if a service charge is added on to each activity. If the guests are encouraged to tip, then there shouldn't be a service charge.
With all that- it was an amazing trip and wish we could go back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank 889jodir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This was our third trip to Paws Up and to my delight this trip was even better than the others - I laugh as I type this as I shared the same sentiment last year. Certainly new experiences added to this feeling, but each visit I am much quicker to “unplug” and recapture the joyful state of mind I have when I'm at Paws.

Paws Up is truly a reflection of the majestic country that surrounds it. Every day adventures were found, whether it be a peaceful hike or an adrenaline-filled experience, Paws Up remains both intimate and pure. The friendly, helpful staff always make the experience even more enjoyable – take the time to talk to the guides and wranglers and not only will they share their wealth of historical and geographical knowledge, you’ll find the sense of gratitude and love of the land and animals they have is genuine.

Though the excursions are not all-inclusive, Paws Up offers everything under one big sky, which gave us the freedom to create experiences that were both family-focused and adult-focused.

We repeated a number of our favorite sporting and water activities this year: and added a new one – a visit to The Lake House. We spent the day with friends paddle boarding, kayaking, jet skiing and riding on the boat with the children squealing in joy while they were pulled behind, riding the waves on a giant float.

There are so many activities to choose from, but we find our family favorites are ATV’s, river-rafting, the skyline aerial adventure course, the chuck wagon and horseback riding which personally, is my favorite way to experience their incredible property.

The Paws Up kids’ program was as exciting as last year, and our daughter quickly found her inner cowgirl, she loved every single minute.

Paws up offers some wonderful inclusive experiences, and each year these experiences grow. This year, I was introduced to buti yoga by the spa director Laura, who is an absolute delight. She teaches early morning yoga classes for all guests, and it’s a wonderful way to start the day.

Our trip also coincided with another inclusive experience; one of Paws Up’s renown culinary events – BBQ-U. Master grillers Sam Huff, Danny Fischer and Paw’s Up own Chef Ben gave outdoor grilling demos and treated all guests to lunch and dinner buffets of incredibly delicious BBQ and sides. What a treat, my husband returned home ready to fire up the grill and show of his new skills.

From the exquisite accommodations to the top-notch care delivered by each and every one of the Paws Up staff, to the custom cuisine by Chef Ben and his wonderful team, to the blissfully serene spa, we felt welcome, indulged and cared for… yet again.

The diversity of experiences at Paws is simply unsurpassed. Genuine connections, consistently stellar service and exciting experiences all come together to make happy life memories for our family.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResortatPawsUp, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor and more importantly for being a loyal return guest. It is inspiring to our staff that we continue to deliver your expectations. Chef Ben is particularly happy to see that he created some culinary experiences for you that are now great memories. We hope to see you again soon and encourage you to share any and all ideas you might have of things that would further enhance your visit with us. My best, Tina Harlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews