We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Big Sky”

Rainbow Ranch Lodge Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rainbow Ranch Lodge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 191
Transit: The Big Sky Shuttle stops directly across Highway 191 from the Rainbow Ranch Lodge. Check www.skylinebus.com for schedules.
Description: In our cozy restaurant on the banks of the Gallatin River, the culinary team at the Rainbow Ranch Lodge consistently delights guests with refined cuisine and classical cooking techniques which transform Montana beef, bison, wild game, and fresh seafood into flavorful works of art. Our Charcuterie Platter features house-made delicacies from duck prosciutto and wild boar sausage with huckleberries to bison kielbasa with Guinness infused whole grain mustard. With an impressive array of entrees like Mesquite grilled, Espresso Rubbed Bison Hanger Steak, Sweet Corn and Brioche Stuffed Roasted Quail, Herbs de Provence Marinated Alaskan King Salmon or Pan Seared Rocky Mountain Elk Loin, it can be difficult to decide. Before you dive into your Rainbow Ranch culinary experience, relax into a cozy couch in our lounge while sipping a hand-crafted cocktail and sampling delectable bites from our small plates menu.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Consistently excellent food, beautiful scenery, pleasant interior, & nice staff make this worth the 15-20 (depending on weather) drive down to the canyon from Big Sky ski resort. Everything I've ever had here over numerous visits the past 4 years has been good if not great. The gnocchi preparation is on the lighter side with a tomato-based broth-like sauce and kale.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018

If you are staying at Rainbow Ranch Lodge or nearby do not miss this very special dining experience. This is not merely a place to grab a meal but instead a quality food event. The server was very knowledgeable in the courses, the manner they were prepared and was most helpful in our selections. The restaurant specializes in Montana meats but also offered a couple of delicious fish and poultry options. Our meal could not have been more perfect in the taste, presentation and quality of every item we had!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank lmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Lodge and had dinner here 2 nights as well. It was delicious! The mushroom bruschetta is out of this world! (I actually had it 2 nights in a row and still dream about it.) The Beef Wellington was delicious and cooked perfectly medium rare. We ate at the bar one night also as they have a few selections that are not on the restaurant menu. The wild game pot pie is awesome! The chefs are clearly proud of what they are letting leave their kitchen! The service at both the restaurant and bar was outstanding as well!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Barrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We were 8 people skiing at Big Sky last week and went out for dinner in the area 3 times. Rainbow Ranch had an interesting menu, nice atmosphere. The mushroom brushetta was excellent. Our meat dishes were tasty and done just as requested. All good. However, we were disappointed because the service was extremely slow for drinks, appetizers and the main courses. In addition the main courses were too salty. 6 of 8 of our group complained about the saltiness of the food. We would not return.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We ate hear after our 1st night of skiing. Its about 20 minutes from Big Sky. The dining room is rustic, friendly, and comfortable. We started with mushroom bruschetta which was awesome. For main course, elk chops were fantastic. The poached troat with boar rillette was disappointing, in particular the trout. Desert was cobbler, very good. Nice wines by the glass. We will definitely come again next time (if we can figure out transportation a little better)

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Ranch Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing