We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
41
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wagon wheel glacier area logan pass hiking trails many glaciers spent nights meadowlark wildflowers elk watertown bears wildlife ranch park property cabin privacy
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is the second time we have stayed in the Elk Willows cabin, having come all the way from Australia. And probably not the last time either.

Paul Ranch has a variety of different sizes of cabins available. Elk Willows is particularly spacious with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large living area and kitchen. The kitchen is well-stocked. Given that we are in the area to hike and we always get a bit muddy, I particularly appreciate the excellent laundry.

In June, the wildflowers are amazing, and there is always some wildlife in the area (including a black bear quite close to the Elk Willows cabin while we were there, so you do need to be careful). Bear spray is provided. There is a lovely view from the balcony.

For us, one of the greatest attractions is the location. So close to the Many Glacier area, but also only 5 minutes from the Chief Mountain road into Canada (very scenic) or the alternative road to Canada (only about 7 minutes from the border). As we were travelling to and from Canada this time, we actually bought some of our groceries in Canada and it was ok to take them over the border. The border crossing was surprisingly quick, efficient and friendly. Otherwise, note that it is quite a long way from Paul Ranch to anywhere with a decent range of groceries (either Kallispell or Browning), with only convenience items located nearby. However, we tended to eat dinner (and often lunch) out, usually at Two Sisters or the Babb Cattle Baron.

Both times we have stayed, the managers have been charming and friendly, although there has been a change of management in between. Booking arrangements have also been smooth and efficient.

Room Tip: There is a wide variety of accommodation, to suit all family sizes and budgets.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Familytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We spent 3 nights and thought it was a base to explore the east side of Glacier and Waterton Parks. The house was well equipped for cooking and doing laundry. And the cookies upon arrival were delicious! There are two bedrooms at opposite ends of the house which is nice for privacy. We had our young puppy with us and there was plenty of room for her crate in the living room/kitchen area. There is also an outside kennel area. We didn't use it but it could accommodate a much larger dog than our 10 lb puppy.
The property managers Gene and Terry are extremely helpful and we were grateful when Gene let us know when there was a bear on the property. Both so we could see it and be careful with our snack size puppy! The alpaca's were fun to watch and also let us know of the bears presence. They would huddle up and stare in that direction so you can tell when something is up!
We would definitely recommend the ranch in general and Wagon Wheel in particular for a family or even 2 couples.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCTravelHounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Paul Ranch was the best of both worlds. With the quite privacy of a home rental, but with the option of getting to know more about the area with the helpful and friendly hosts of Gene and Terry. We spent four days there, and entered the park through three entrances. While staying in the park would have been easier for one day, This was a great and quicker way to see a broad range of hiking trails in the East (Customs Belly River, Many Glaciers, and St. Mary's). In addition the setting is so peaceful with tremendous views

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed at the Wagon Wheel House for 3 nights and we wished we had stayed longer. The house has two bedrooms with king size beds, and equipped with everything you would need, including kitchen equipment and grill outside. There are Alcapas on the ranch and occasional visitors from the park nearby like bears and deers. There is daily cleaning and the hosts are very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others. There is internet for 5$ pr. night

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasperfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We just completed 2 weeks at the Wagon Wheel at Paul Ranch. It is really wonderful. Beautiful view, and everything we needed. Gene and Terry, the caretakers were excellent. We hope to go back in the near future, and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cowrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews