We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food even if you don't like Cajun”

Hwy 61 Roadhouse & Kitchen
Price range: USD 10 - USD 25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Highway 61 Roadhouse and Kitchen was conceived during a trip on Highway 61 between St. Louis and New Orleans. This stretch is called "The Blues Highway". It originates in the agriculturally and culturally fertile land of the Mississippi Delta; it is said that American music, as we know it, traveled and developed up the river. From the Zydeco and Jazz of New Orleans to the Urban Blues of Memphis' Beale Street to the piano based St. Louis Blues, great music has spanned this route. The combination of the rhythmic sounds of slaves and their instruments of the new world gave America its roots of unique musical styles that have topped the charts and soothed souls for centuries. The various cultures that created such distinctive and world-renowned music had other influences as well. The food of this section of Highway 61 brings us the savory tastes and complex flavors that American's hearts and palates have fallen in love with. No one can resist the spicy etouffee or jambalaya from the Cajun and Creole kings of New Orleans. The Delta brings us items like cornmeal breaded catfish, hot tamales and sweet potatoes. As this culinary journey continues to Memphis, you will find mounds of slow smoked pulled pork and racks of seasoned dry rubbed ribs. St. Louis, whose contributions include pork steaks, toasted ravioli and what was initially a mistake that has turned into one of the area's most loved desserts, gooey butter cake. These are just a few examples of the fine foods this rich region has contributed to America's gastronomic lore. We hope we have included some of your favorites on our menu and if you have a suggestion please let us know. We hope you enjoy our "Southern Roadhouse Hospitality" along with the food and music that we have selected from this section of Highway 61. Whether it's the great seafood and spicy Cajun foods along with Jazz and Zydeco from Louisiana, the soulful cooking and Blues from the Mississippi Delta, the Rockabilly of the Sun label as well as the Soulful sounds of the Stax and Hi labels as well as the mouth watering barbecue made so famous in Memphis, or, of course, our hometown greats Chuck Berry, Fontella Bass, and Ike and Tina Turner, and a mouth watering pork steak and gooey butter cake. We promise to bring you the best in food and music that these areas have to offer.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Food very good...really enjoyed pulled pork, mac n cheese, red beans and rice and catfish poboy which had no fishy taste and cooked perfectly. You can tell we shared. Join their club and you'll save even the first time you go. Great service. Wish they had coke products!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahcuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill K, Owner at Hwy 61 Roadhouse & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you Sarah for taking the time to leave us feedback and tell us about your favorites. Sorry we didn't have Coke products for you...but glad you didn't hold that against us : ) Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

I love the atmosphere of this place. We always get the Cajun food. I especially love the catfish smothered with crayfish eutoffe. Go on Friday night to hear the music.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill K, Owner at Hwy 61 Roadhouse & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Kathleen - thanks so much for the review and taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to have to back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Hwy 61 Roadhouse was my choice in St Louis when passing through on my latetest Diner's, Drive-Ins and Dives roadtrip. It was well worth it. You walk in and the place is big. The tables are close together but I did not feel crowded. The service was very good. My waitress had a trainee with her, and both were great. I had the 1/2 slab of St Louis Spare Ribs with coleslaw and BBQ Spaghetti (Guy had had it on Triple D). The ribs are meaty and very moist. They were tender and very tasty. The smoke on them is outstanding. Once I added pepper, the coleslaw was great and really went with the ribs. The Spaghetti has BBQ sauce and pulled pork which is a bit different. I found it a tad sweet but it was a nice side for the ribs. Each table has a roll of paper towel which I have found means a finger-licking good meal. Another bonus was I was there on a Wed evening which is band night with an open mic. The music is great and people talented. I hope to return and hopefully on a Wed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TripleDRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill K, Owner at Hwy 61 Roadhouse & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you TripleDRoadTripper for stopping in and giving us a try! We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope to see you the next time you are in the area. Enjoy your DDD travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

This place was featured on the hit show diners drive ins and dives. They have a vast verity of food on the menu. You can't go wrong with anything that you order.

Thank Earl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill K, Owner at Hwy 61 Roadhouse & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review Earl! We appreciate you coming in and look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

61 Roadhouse has a great brunch on Sundays for only $14.99. You can enjoy two kinds of grits, made to order omelettes and pancakes, shrimp, crawfish, red beans and rice, jambalaya, beignets, cobbler, and much more. Our waitress was very friendly and provided great service. The decor is super fun and you'll feel like you are in NOLA.

Thank Gwennie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill K, Owner at Hwy 61 Roadhouse & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

So glad to hear you enjoyed our Sunday brunch! We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Come back and try out the rest of our menu and let us know what you think!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hwy 61 Roadhouse & Kitchen also viewed

Webster Groves, Saint Louis
 
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Hwy 61 Roadhouse & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing