We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use Caution! Nothing "American" about it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of American Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
American Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Troy, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Use Caution! Nothing "American" about it.”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I booked a room at the American Inn for one night via Hotwire in late October, 2011. In early February, 2012 I received an email from Hotwire stating that there may have been a change in the hotel's amenities - specifically that they could no longer guarantee that the rooms were non-smoking. When I called the hotel directly to check on our reservation and request a non-smoking room, I was asked to call back in half an hour because she was outside the hotel and could not access their reservation system. I called back about an hour later and this time she took my name, phone number and date of stay. She again said she was still outside and would call me later. After 6 or 7 more hours and no phone call, I called back that evening hoping to get someone that would take a minute or two and look into my reservation. I was told that there was no reservation under my name and that all their rooms were currently booked for that date. When I explained that I had made my reservation on Hotwire months prior to this and that I had my confirmation number printed and in front of me, she said the hotel had "changed ownership" in December. Apparently no one thought to look into the existing reservations and make sure they were kept intact??? Normally this would have just been a minor inconvenience and I would have booked another room, but this happened to be for the week of the National BMW Motorcycle Owners Association Rally with thousands of riders converging on this relatively small town. Needless to say, there were no other rooms available anywhere in the vicinity. Since we did not actually make it to the hotel I cannot comment on the rooms, but I can tell you that the customer service here is severely lacking in my opinion. No offer to call me back if they had a cancellation, no "I'm sorry for the inconvenience" although she did tell me that I could call THEM back again to check if any rooms had become available. It's called common courtesy, people!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSL_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    4
    5
    30
See reviews for
14
28
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have stayed at this motel many times over the years while in sedalia. I have never encountered bugs, roaches, ants, hair, or whatever else anyone saw. It is an average room and very quiet. I have travled many times and stayed in many motels and have seen some really dirty places. The location is good and the owners are very friendly. I am not related nor have I ever worked for them. The airconditioner worked and so did internet. It puzzles me about these revies since I have stayed here so often. Its not the hilton but its a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was dirty and not taken care of. The rooms smelled aweful and the walls looked like a crime scene. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brower85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sedalia hotels

MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The most recent reviews of this hotel are right on! This place is disgusting! I am originally from the area, so I was skeptical to begin with. However, their website indicated the hotel had been remodeled. They do have a neat website, but don't be fooled. The pictures are very deceiving! This hotel has NOT been remodeled. In our room, I think maybe the toilet & sink were new. But that's it. Everything is so dirty. I felt just completely awful sleeping on the rough sheets & I didn't even want to use the blanket that was from the 70's. I booked a non-smoking room, but got a smoking one. So it stunk. It took 10 minutes of work to get the bathroom light to come on. The carpet was disgusting--I would not walk barefoot in there. The towels were small, thin & dirty looking.

We only stayed one night while going to the State Fair. It was the only hotel that still had rooms left. Now I know why. I was never so eager to get home & wash the "American Inn gunk" off me. I felt like I smelled like that place all day. Nasty!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We had a 4 night stay beginning Aug 9th, 2010. Light fixtures were very dusty upon arrival--after I wrote "wash me" in the dust, it was fixed the next day. Staff were very stingy with towels/wash cloths (3 small bath towels, 2 washcloths/day) for a 2 Queen Bed room. Only day shampoo packet was left in room was first day. One tiny bar of soap on first day---never received another one. Shower wouldn't drain---pulled a huge gob of hair out of the drain. Daily outdoor temps were 100 degrees yet air conditioner had been turned off completely when we returned to our rooms in the afternoon each day. TV very difficult to turn on--flicked on and off. Rooms were $55/night for 3 nights then suddenly $140/night for first night of State Fair. Certainly expected more for the money--seemed like wanted to spend as little money on customers/service as possible. Our room did not appear to be remodeled as quoted in hotel guide--very small bathtub, sink falling off wall.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedalia
2.0 km away
Econo Lodge Truman Inn
Econo Lodge Truman Inn
#6 of 8 in Sedalia
103 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN State Fair Inn
2.0 km away
Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn Sedalia Station
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia
26.9 km away
Laci's Country Inn
Laci's Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Knob Noster
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn

Property: American Inn
Address: 1217 S Limit Ave, Sedalia, MO 65301-5129
Region: United States > Missouri > Sedalia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Price range (per night): $73 - $154
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at American Inn for your Sedalia, Missouri vacation. American Inn has a great location for hotels in Sedalia, MO near the Missouri State Fair. Book online at American Inn here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing