We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My Gosh, It's Ted Drewes!”

Ted Drewes Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 96 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Description: Ted Drewes is closed for the season and will re-open on February 11, 2016.... Could you please update this information on our Trip Advisor Page.... Thank you
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Of all the food venues to visit in St Louis, if you miss this place on your trip, you have done yourself a disfavor. Ted Drewes wasn't the first Frozen Custard, but it's arguably the best small chain Custard sellers in the country. Customers line up outside nightly 10 to 15 deep at up to 6 windows to order up specialty (concretes) and sundaes or order up whatever their sweet tooth might desire. My personal record for most visits in a short period of time is 6 sundaes in 3 days. I've had frozen custard in many cities across the country. None compare to (Ted's) as it's known in St Louis. Don't miss out on one of the city's best known attractions. Ted's should be at the top of your list!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foodfanatic411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Guest Relations Manager at Ted Drewes Frozen Custard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review of Ted Drewes Frozen Custard. We really appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 3,105 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Found this on TA and it did not disappoint. I had a large chocolate shake and my son the chocolate with brownie shake. Both were excellent. Our ride share driver (who had not been there before) had the Hawaiian delight and said he loved it and would be back. Only a few people in line since it was 31 degrees. Window service only, no indoor seating. Lot parking. Restrooms available. Fast, friendly service. I would return.

Thank Nyormirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Guest Relations Manager at Ted Drewes Frozen Custard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Ted Drewes Frozen Custard. Hope that you have a chance to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Famous for frozen custard, Ted Drewes offers flavors and toppings too numerous to count, and is nearly as busy in the winter as in the peak warm weather. Try one of Ted Drewes concretes or a turtle sundae.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 564BobM564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Guest Relations Manager at Ted Drewes Frozen Custard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

We have more than 30 toppings to choose from to mix with our vanilla frozen custard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

When we heard the best votes ice cream in the world is in St. Louis we had to go and we weren’t disappointed. From what we read they are famous for their concrete mixers, which is like a Dairy Queen blizzard if you’ve ever had that. Both my wife’s and mine were delicious. The ice cream seemed creamier than other places and the toppings fresher if that makes sense. Even on a cold early March day it was crowded. I can only imagine in the summertime what it’s like.

Thank jklamo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Guest Relations Manager at Ted Drewes Frozen Custard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Glad that you enjoyed your visit to Ted Drewes Frozen Custard. Hope that you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

All i can say is omg on the caramel concrete and the Mississippi Mud was pretty good too great part of the Route 66 history

Thank bevmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ted Drewes Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Ted Drewes Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing