We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at our favorite St. Louis hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Ranked #11 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2011

My wife and I just returned from another great stay at this Hampton Inn. Everything was perfect as it always is and we will certainly be back again next year!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunofthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,599 - 1,603 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed Saturday-Monday. Saturday night there was a large monster truck rally in town, as well as a Blues game, which meant the hotel was full. We requested a two-bed room when booking with points, but instead got a one-king room. They were nice enough to give us a roll-away bed, but not nice enough to set it up for us or provide pillows or a blanket for it.

The parking is free, but in a very tight garage full of support columns that one must navigate in order to park. When we arrived Saturday night, there were only 3 spots open, and only 1 could we actually squeeze into given the columns everywhere.

Breakfast was incredibly busy and seriously lacking Sunday morning. The poor woman in charge of breakfast was moving as fast as she could to keep the breakfast area stocked, but she just couldn't keep up with the crowd. By 8:30, there were no plain bagels or white bread left. The milk ran out by 9:00, and the entire time the juice was so warm it was undrinkable.

Then the elevators. There are 3 elevators for 18 floors (LL to 17), only 2 of which access the basement where the breakfast area is located. They are very slow. It took us nearly 15 minutes to get from our room on the 17th floor to the basement, stopping at EVERY SINGLE GUEST FLOOR on the way down. As we ate breakfast, a line formed because 1 of the 2 elevators that accessed the basement had stalled in between floors.

We stayed using points, which Hampton refunded for us given how much went wrong. The next morning was less busy, which meant the parking garage, breakfast and elevators were all better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGatewayArch, Manager at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

We appreciate your feedback and are sorry we were unable to provide the room type that you requested. It’s disappointing to hear your rollaway wasn't setup and made for you, as it should have been. We understand your frustration with the breakfast and elevators and are currently working to resolve these issues as we are entering our busy season. This was our first sold out weekend of the year and our lack of preparation has become apparent. We hope to use your critique to strengthen our service moving forward. We are sorry that you caught us on a bad weekend and invite the opportunity to provide you with the level of service so many others have received as noted in other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The hotel was nice and staff was friendly. The breakfast was made daily; coffee and tea is available in the lobby anytime. The garage is very small with a fee and the elevators are small. There's a small fitness room and pool. The rooms were a little small, the beds were comfortable and bathroom was clean. The METROLink is one block away. I used it to get to and from the airport. The Gateway Arch is within walking distance. Irish Pub in lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strongbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I have stayed at this location twice now and I am very impressed by the friendly customer service and the overall quality of every aspect of this hotel. Everything is very clean, fresh and modern. All this at a very reasonable price!!! Like I said, I have stayed here twice and I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Had a great time. Attended their Whiskey dinner which was very good. The views were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CS63385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $140 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from The Dome at America's Center (formerly Edward Jones Dome), one block from Laclede's Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals and Ball Park Village are only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link. The Metro link, St. Louis' light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing