We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
141
9
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
9
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lafayette square burgundy room napoleon room within walking distance historic neighborhood private courtyard lovely home lovely neighborhood breakfast was delicious third floor gracious hosts highly recommend staying here wonderful stay rooms are beautiful close to downtown bed was very comfortable free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Let's get the location out of the way first - Lafayette Square is a leafy, heritage listed precinct in central Saint Louis and Napoleon's Retreat is a painstakingly restored and maintained property. Interesting antiques and art throughout. Walking distance to to the pubs and restaurants of Soulard.

And now the hospitality: amazing; superlative. We arrived after a 30+ hour transit from Australia. Unfortunately, I had mixed up the dates and when we knocked on the door there was literally no room at the inn. But no problem for Stacey - she invited us in, offered us beers and refreshments and started scoping out options for alternative accommodation for the night I had misplanned. Would we like to stay near our friends near the airport? Would we like to stay around the corner - she'd found a room with a colleague? Whatever we chose, she'd be happy to drive us there. And that really just set the tone for our wonderful stay. Stacey was so attentive and helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it strongly to anyone else.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

We love our guests from overseas! Honestly, we've made the same error when booking an international stay, and we definitely could not leave your stranded after 30 hours of travel! It was so fantastic that you were able to surprise your friends for the wedding. It was our pleasure to provide a bit of midwestern hospitality to such wonderful guests. Happy memories all around! :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

My fiancée and I stayed in the Burgundy Room and really enjoyed it. The room is great, the building is fantastic, and Stacy is a fantastic host. The B&B is really nice and has a historic feel to it that we really liked. And there's a number of great restaurants and bars within walking distance from the front door. Oh, and breakfast was fantastic. Really good. If you're coming to St. Louis, Lafayette Square is really the best part of town to stay in, and Napoleon's Retreat is a great option. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

It was our pleasure hosting your getaway to St. Louis. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed our inn and our neighborhood filled with Painted Lady Victorian homes. Stacy is blushing over your compliments about breakfast! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I wanted to find a B&B for our anniversary and we had show tickets at the Fox in STL so I came across Napoleon's. It was perfect! Such a cozy stay and the breakfast was delicious! It was quiet and in a fun neighborhood for us to explore. We highly recommend! Thanks for making our anniversary so fun!

Room tip: We liked the top floor! Big room!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words about our B&B, and for making us a part of your anniversary celebration. We hope your travels bring you to St. Louis again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Lovely room in a lovely home with gracious hosts! Within walking distance of restaurants, pubs, coffee shops, ice cream parlors. Perfect! And the breakfasts were superb! DEFINITELY on our list for a return trip.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamest45301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

It was such a pleasure meeting you this past weekend. We're very glad that our B&B was closely located to the birthday festivities you attended. Thank you so much for your kind words about our B&B. We hope you're able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been visiting Napoleon's Retreat since 2013, when we initially visited for an anniversary trip. This charming B&B is now the only place that we stay while visiting St. Louis, and have recommended it to all of our friends and family members. The property is located in historic Lafayette Square and is within walking distance of parks and many wonderful restaurants, bars, and coffee shops. The rooms are beautiful (we have stayed in them all, the Burgandy is a favorite) and well-appointed with everything that you could need during your stay. While the property is gorgeous, what keeps us coming back is the owner/proprietor, Stacy. She is a gracious host, has always been extremely accessible (she and her husband live on site), and she makes a great breakfast! Stacy is also very knowledgeable about the STL area and has wonderful recommendations for dining and entertainment. We always look forward to staying at Napoleon's Retreat and feel right at home when we are there.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ekevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

We are so very thankful to have such wonderful, amazing guests that have become good friends over the years. It is always a pleasure to see you, and we're already looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews