We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Given the positive reviews of the Moonrise Hotel, I was looking forward to my stay, but having returned to England now I have to say I was disappointed and think the hotel is overrated.

I had little choice in St Louis for the weekend I was there, mainly because it was opening day of the baseball season and there was an NRA convention in town, so I was happy to get one of the top-rated hotels - now that rating leaves me wondering what the rest of them are like.

Things started badly when I was hit with a $25 charge for checking in early. In all my years of travelling, I have arrived at many a hotel early, and this was the first time I have been charged for the privilege. Usually dealt with well by staff who just check if the room is available, this time the first thing out of the host's mouth was 'there is a charge'. What am I meant to do? Say no and lug my case around for 4 hours, or store it and then have to check in at 11pm after a long night of excursions I had booked in advance? If the room is ready, why am I charged anyway?

Then I return on the second day and find my room has not been serviced. No point in ringing front desk at 11pm to get this sorted as the maids will all have disappeared for the day. Same again on the final day, although this time I get back to the hotel at 3pm and finally someone is there cleaning the room - well sort of since there was still stuff left on the floor.

Finally I check out very early on Sunday and find I am met with blank expressions and lack of civility. No 'how was your stay' 'hope you have enjoyed St Louis' - just 'do you want a receipt for your early arrival charge' and barely a farewell. Also noted on arrival the two families checking out were offered Trip Adivsor cards to show them where to put their positive reviews - didn't even get one of those although the review wouldn't have been positive anyway.

A beautiful hotel, yes, and the rooms are very well appointed, but I won't be back. And it is far enough out of the city to make the journey in a pain in the neck - St Louis' Metrolink system is not frequent enough and I found myself waiting on platforms too often.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capitalgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
I am sorry for your experience. Please contact me directly at the hotel and I would be happy to assist you with a better experience next time.

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    238
    59
    27
    22
See reviews for
253
490
77
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I needed to stay near Wash U for one night and this place did the trick. They have a negotiated rate with the school so it was very reasonable. The "moon" decor is very attractive. The rooms are all newly furnished and clean and there is a modern looking bathroom. It is about a 12 minute walk direct walk to the school. The staff was helpful and friendly and the restaurant on site "Eclipse" was had a very interesting menu with equally good tasting food. They also signed me up for a concierge type service at no charge. I didn't really use it but they did have a soda and chips waiting for me in the room. If you have a need to be in that part of St Louis, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your review will be very helpful for Wash U families. Please let us know if we can help you with anything else!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed in #428 end of hall next to Red Fox Suite. King bed, very spacious room with a great view of Delmar and Loop area. Free parking was easy and convenient due to no show at the Pageant. Lot would be crowded if you arrived late on a show night, which is why paid valet parking is also available. Eclipse Restaurant was calm and lovely - GREAT music playing in background. Every staff person who passed us inquired as to our satisfaction or just offered a friendly greeting. Was never ignored by staff. This was our second visit and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillPSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your comments on our hotel and staff. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience. Please let us know if we can help you with your next visit to The Loop!

Safe Travels,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at the Moonrise for one night and had a wonderful time! The entire hotel is unique and modern. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!! I stayed with friends in the Vincent Price suite and it was everything you could want and more. I had an excellent stay and would recommend it to anyone. Very, very cool hotel in a very cool area of St. Louis. Would also recommend the homemade moon pies from the restaurant! Delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYounger230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We are glad you liked the Vincent Price Suite! Thank you for staying and thank you for your review.

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel in St. Louis because of how close it is to the Pageant. My wife and I were in town for the Needtobreathe show and wanted somewhere hip and close to the venue. I had previously stayed at the Moonrise before for both business and pleasure and had never received poor customer service. However, this was not the case for this particular stay. The front desk staff were rude and lacked any customer service skills. I travel frequently for business purposes and have never experienced this poor of service before. The parking is a nightmare at this property with valet being the only option most nights. Upon returning home I discovered that I had left a garment in the closet. After a month of trying to reach their customer satisfaction manager I have still not received any reply emails or phone calls to try and recover this garment. I find this totally unsatisfactory. Then today I discover mysterious charges on my Visa. These charges were for mini-bar items that we supposedly consumed during our stay. Wrong! We did not touch these items. Lastly, I am a member of their desires program and received none of the amenities awarded for being a member of this program. Again, I love the hotel and its superb location just not the customer service I recently received.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RCTalberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
I apologize for the experience during your most recent stay. I would like to make the service aspect of your next stay much more enjoyable. When you consider staying with us again, please contact me directly so I can insure you the level of service you are accustomed to experiencing.

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price range (per night): $228 - $473
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing