We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The room Jesse James was shot in!

I found this small house fascinating as it lent a window into the life of this young outlaw. One... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
846nancie
,
Centralia, Missouri
This is why we came to St. Jo

For years while driving to Kansas City I've seen billboards saying to visit St. Joseph and see the... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2018
okiesooner09
,
Oklahoma
Read all 205 reviews
  
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
75
77
35
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
77
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small house hole in the wall original location jesse james living room his life audio tape piece of history patee house interesting artifacts separate admission next door old west love history located directly gift shop great stop
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Upon entrance, we were greeted gruffly with " You guys almost waited too late." It was only 3:40 pm but even with closing at 4, we had plenty of time to see what little was there. Located on the grounds of the Patee House museum it was an ok tour. A few interesting artifacts.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank mc2649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Went to this museum after the Patee House Museum. Right behind the Patee House Myseum. It is a very small house with just 4 rooms. Not really worth the admission fee. Unless you are a big Jesse James fan, then it might be worth it.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank gsmama2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

See the home of Jesse James. Bullet hole in the wall. Lots of history to go along with. I highly recommend you check out this local museum.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank charliecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

House is only 4 rooms. It doesn't take a long time to go thru but packed with lots of items, pictures and stories. We learned so much about the James boys and the events leading up to Jesse's death. Worth the stop!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Renie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Advertised opening hours for this museum were at nine, however when we arrived at nine we found other people also waiting to get in. We went next-door to the carousel Museum and the man called to find out when they would be open. It turns out they were actually opening at 9:30. So we left and came back later. The museum is very small but has interesting artifacts. It reminded us of the Lizzie Borden house on a much smaller scale. It contains casting of his skull fragments and teeth. It has no video but has a bit of narration to explain how he was killed. It would've been nice to have a short video or more explanation as to what exactly happened. And it was frustrating to arrive at the advertised time both online and on the door but find out that they were not opening until 30 minutes later.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Getaway721017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews