We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the brick lined streets and the shops.”

St. Charles Historic District
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic District St. Charles: 16 blocks of shopping, dining and lodging in historic, restored structures on the banks of the Missouri River. Settlement dates to 1769.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We loved the shops and winery's we visited. was only able to see half of it due to sheduling but we are already planning our next trip there.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jemery2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river"
in 135 reviews
"unique shops"
in 52 reviews
"cookies"
in 36 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 27 reviews
"great shopping"
in 15 reviews
"shopping and dining"
in 15 reviews
"several blocks"
in 14 reviews
"spice shop"
in 13 reviews
"old town"
in 43 reviews
"frontier park"
in 39 reviews
"katy trail"
in 58 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 38 reviews
"a great place to spend"
in 14 reviews
"small town"
in 13 reviews
"great food"
in 25 reviews
"all kinds"
in 17 reviews
"louis area"
in 15 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were interested in the downtown area primarily because of the geocaches in the area but loved all the quaint shops lining the streets. There's a lot of interesting history in the area. We visited several interesting places and plan to return for a more thorough visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank charlesc285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were visiting the St. Louis area for spring break with our family and booked a hotel in St. Charles without even knowing anything about the incredibly quaint and charming historic downtown area--such a pleasant surprise!

Our first night in town, the staff at our hotel front desk gave us a couple of restaurant suggestions and that's when we stumbled upon downtown. Of course by dinnertime, all of the stores were closed for the evening which was disappointing, but only gave us a reason to come back to explore in the morning! We did walk several blocks of S. Main Street, as well as down through the park along the river.

We ate downtown nearly every night--we enjoyed meals at Hendricks BBQ, the Trailhead Brewery and Lewis & Clark's. We absolutely loved Grandma's Cookies, making several stops there over the course of the week. And I personally could've spent all day in Main Street Books browsing the shelves and chatting with the owner.

Overall, it's a very sweet downtown and kept up so impeccably well. Perhaps because it was still early spring and the off season, the stores kept very limited hours, so we never did get a good opportunity to browse the shops.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank CarrieD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This is a terrific way to spend a good-weather day. Main street is a couple of miles long, with plenty of small shops, good restaurants with outside seating and plenty of unique places to grab an ice cream or snack. The street is brick pavers, so it might be a challenge for strollers or wheelchairs.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank ShariM349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Very cool place to visit. The old buildings and the shops. Really loved walking around that place. It was cold and still Winter technically so not all the shops were open.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Charles Historic District also viewed

 

Been to St. Charles Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing