We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, pretty rude employees.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basswood Country Inn and RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Platte City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Basswood Country Inn and RV Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Platte City B&B and Inns
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, pretty rude employees.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

This is a very nice getaway, close to shopping and civilization but far enough away to get a break. It is very clean and groomed grounds. It has the potential to be a great time but the poor management and rude employees could easily ruin a nice vacation. We stayed for 4 nights Sunday thru Thursday occupying 3 cabins and 2 rv spots with our extended family. The resort was full but not overpacked. The pool was a nice size and the kids liked the playground but the splash pad was not working the entire time and no one seemed to be working on it. It really did not look like it had been working in a long time. There were no activities or movies for the kids during the week and given the number of kids in the resort, a movie at the outdoor theatre would have been nice. Surprisingly the insects did not take over the resort at night or in the woods so hiking and sitting outside were possible.
The park is insistent on escorts to campsites and cabins which we only learned about when our 80+ year old grandmother drove her camper to her site without one she was yelled at by a very belligerent employee. Given there were no signs about the escort requirement, the dress down was way too harsh. She was very upset about it and it took her a while to calm down. I think rules are very important to running a resort but the enforcement needs to be a little more friendly. When the say the pool closes at 9:00 p.m. that means everyone needs to be out, the lights out. the door locked etc by 9:00 and it was not a friendly "pool is closing folks" it was a rude "Out, pool is closing." If you don't move fast enough you will get locked in. The fishing was fun, nothing spectacular but the kids liked catching and releasing. Several ponds are off limits so read the rules carefully. We did our best to obey the rules and avoid the red shirted employees and we managed to have a nice time. I just think that when you drive your golf car past an employee they should do more then scowl. I would have given them a 3 instead of a 2 but for one incident. We spent one day at Worlds of Fun and the older relatives stayed in camp. One came walking by our cabin to find 2 of the windows open without a screen and no one around. He investigated to find out that employees had decided to change out the air-conditioner and removed the old one and then went on break with the windows wide open and no one securing our possessions. We had secured everything in the cabin only to have it unsecured by the employees. We had no notice that they were entering our cabin and leaving it unsecured. Thankfully, he stayed around to make sure our things were safe and find out what happened. Had he not been there to secure our things our vacation could have been ruined.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    34
    14
    7
    15
See reviews for
64
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

Basswood is a great family RV destination. Bring all your own food and drinks and firewood and don't forget your poles and bait. I almost hate to write a great review of the place because I don't want it to be booked up all the time. There is a nice pool and spray ground, 2 play grounds, walking trails, several stocked fishing ponds. Clean bathrooms and showers. It is a great place to get reconnected with your family and unconnected from TV,video games etc. The biggest downfall to this place is the airport located very near by, planes fly low overhead every 5 minutes, but after a while we forgot to notice them.The people camping there are very friendly, alot of them live in the surrounding areas of Kansas CIty. My kids had a great time and we are going back soon. It was the most relaxing weekend I had all summer. Also all the kids ride there bikes so if you have kids don't forget to bring their bikes.

  • Liked — Relaxing family weekend
  • Disliked — all the ammentities
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2007

Very convenient property. My kids had a great time. The fishing was great, especially early in the mornings. Pool and Water Park were perfect for the kids (I could see how some cranky old timers might not appreciate). They have spent alot of time and money keeping the place nice. The staff was great. We rented golf carts ($45/day) and my kids went bonkers for all of the trails available, very fun. It would be tough to manage a place like that trying to keep it fun for kids, and at the same time trying to keep a bunch of old people comfortable!

Great Job Basswood!

  • Liked — fishing
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank moaninbeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2006

This used to be a very nice establishment owned by a very nice couple. However recently Basswood has come under new management and these people don't know how to treat customers. They are very rude and don't keep up proper maintenance of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platte City
19.7 km away
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
#1 of 4 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.1 km away
Ramada Platte City Kci Airport
39.0 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport North
37.6 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
38.8 km away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basswood Country Inn and RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basswood Country Inn and RV Resort

Property: Basswood Country Inn and RV Resort
Address: 15880 Interurban Rd, Platte City, MO 64079-9185
Region: United States > Missouri > Platte City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Platte City
Price range (per night): $89 - $170
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basswood Resort is the perfect place to spend your next family vacation. In fact, families have been coming to Basswood for decades to enjoy the peaceful seclusion you can only find here. Be a part of our history that includes such names as Bing Crosby and others. Our resort is a combination inn and campground. We offer apartment style rooms, cabins and several different types of RV sites. Our amenities include a swimming pool, playground, planned activities, themed weekends and so much more. We hope you'll come see us soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Basswood Country Inn And Rv Hotel Platte City
Country Inn Platte City
Platte City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing