We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A piece of Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Invest into slowing down & relaxing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Invest into slowing down & relaxing
Spacious walk-in closet and storage area Bathroom supplied like a 5-star hotel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Invest into slowing down & relaxing
Spacious walk-in closet and storage area
Bathroom supplied like a 5-star hotel
Private deck with electric grill and plenty of parking below.
Enter into your escape
We provide luxury...
...with a country flavor.
...and abundance of fresh air
Enjoy the show in a bird watcher's paradise
Hot tub and sauna available for an additional fee
Wellness center and massage are other optional services...
...offering incomparable relaxation with essential oils, teas, snacks and refreshments
Gym is just downstairs (opt. service)
If work out doesn't warm you, the sauna certainly will
Take time to enjoy a book  from our well-stocked library
Picnic basket for those with good taste...
Let us spoil you by cooking for you. Our meals mix flavors from around the world
Soak in one of those spectacular sunsets from the top of the hill...
...before warming things up and heading to your super comfy bed
When the cardinals are watching us
Want to learn and broaden your horizon? We're here to help
Get active once your batteries are recharged
Visiting state parks and numerous local attractions...
Yes we will! Just bring your license
And yes, we're famous for those gorgeous autumn colors
Our Loan-A-Dog program features Kora, who will gladly be your pal
Everyone welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Park Hills, Missouri

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Metka A
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just concluded our one-week stay at Benka & Keith's. Even though we had arrived quite late our first day, Benka and Keith welcomed us with a dinner, and their dog Kora – the kindest dog ever – was wagging her tail excitedly, confirming that we’d come to the right place.

The treetop cottage was equipped and plenished with everything we would need for our stay there. Tidy, clean, with a pleasant scent filling the air, and nicely cooled (air conditioning is a big plus in a Missouri summer!). Every detail thought and meticulously carried out to perfection – including a welcoming basket and home-made sweets in the fridge; as well as a folder with exact instructions and cute little notes about what is available in the apartment, and where, what sights to see in vicinity, suggestions for trips, and plenty of other useful information; the most comfortable bed and a top-notch breakfast with eight different dishes.

Evenings were spent on the porch lit by lanterns (Benka owns a plentitude of those ), reading one of the multitude of books one can find on the bookshelves in the cottage, or making use of the wellness facilities that were at our disposal. Falling asleep in a babbling whirlpool in the midst of the woods, accompanied by squirrels and rabbits – there’s not much more one can wish for.

Although thousands of miles away from home, at Benka & Keith’s one truly feels at home.
Thank you guys, we shall be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Looking forward to see you on our doorstep again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaLe...
1 review
“Comforts of home while getting away”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We really enjoyed staying in the cottage. The only problem was not being able to stay longer and enjoy more of the available services and activities in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Dear Natasha, you are most welcome to visit any time and qualify for returning customers special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I were really looking forward to being pampered but when we arrived found out that the person who offered all the services was not there. Would have liked that information when we booked. There are a lot of State Parks nearby all within 30-45min drive. It was so wet and cold when we went that we didn't get to enjoy the fire pit or even sit outside. We decided to leave a day early as well and of course without a refund. To sum it up my experience was nothing like what others had posted, my experience was very disappointing. I wish that my review could have been as wonderful as all the others. Honestly, it was just a space and bed to sleep in out in the middle of nowhere. Could have stayed in a hotel in Farmington for about the same price which would have included breakfast hot tub and pool for the experience I got. The upside is we did get a gift basket, it had a bottle of Merlot, marshmallows, and pretzel sticks in it. We did also get two chocolate dipped prunes and two lindt lindor truffles by the bed. The queen size bed was very comfortable as well. Hope my review helps any and all that are thinking of staying here. Just be sure to ask when you book if Benka will be there if you are planning on getting any services.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Dear Kendra, sorry to hear about your disappointment. We carefully reviewed the entire correspondence with you and found no trace of any request for additional services. That is what guests normally do when booking optional services that aren't part of our standard package.

We regret you didn't take time to read the guide book we provide for our guests covering where to go, what to do and what to experience in the area. It's hard to miss the 9 state parks and conservation areas which are all less than 30 min away.

We apologize we can neither control the weather nor the energy our guest bring along. We do our best to offer the most we can, but it always helps if people know what they want in the first place.

Leaving a day early without a refund is the policy of the internet service you used to book our property.

Nevertheless, thank you for your 3-star rating. It is wonderful to know that even disappointed guest can't give us a bad rating :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl0gan
Sedalia, Missouri
2 reviews
“Serene, Relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I stayed here four nights while we explored the area and celebrated our anniversary. It is a short, 30 minute average drive to the State Parks where we went hiking. The cottage is cozy, nestled back in the woods, with outdoor space to relax. We spent our evenings on the deck or by the fire pit. The wood is even provided. There is a comfy hammock outside to rest in as well. It was nice being able to cook while we were there; the cabin has a full kitchenette. The owners of the property are very welcoming. There was a welcome basket with wine and snacks that we found on our arrival, as well as homemade chocolate covered figs in the fridge! There is a very comprehensive visitors' guide to the area that the owners have provided. They are well-traveled, and have great knowledge of good places to eat, visit, etc. I would definitely recommend to others and would stay again if we are ever back in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We wish you many more great anniversaries celebrated in the romantic places like Peaceful Treetop Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja B
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
“The place is filled with peace and love”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

After a long drive we arrived to Benka and Keith's beautiful place and were absolutely smitten. Breathtaking surroundings, fantastic cottage wtih everything you need for a relaxing stay; with a view on the garden and the woods, turtles, birds, squirrels. Benka and Keith were both just fantastic, full of great stories and tips for trips; you feel welcome and everything there just oozes peace and love. If you are traveling in the area, just looking for a place to stay or you're in need for spiritual sanctuary...I can't think of a better place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was great
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you for letting us host you, Anja. We are looking forward to host you for your honeymoon this fall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 109
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing