We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avalon, somewhere on the Côte D'Azure?”
Review of Bistro Boulevard

Bistro Boulevard
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Avalon Beach
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Since July 2015 my wife and I have enjoyed a late Sunday lunch here each week. It is very good comfort food for the cooler months of the year, and takes us back to Europe.
The staff are friendly, mostly French, and the menu is very French.
We have tried the style of eating where you take a glass of the recommended wine with each each dish. And that is great, but a bit of a luxury. Now we order house wine by the carafe, and find that it is very very good.
Having tried pretty much every dish and enjoyed them all. I tend to order either the specials or those dishes which are difficult to make at home. Often the fish specials are not particularly French, for example seared Snapper filet. But if you have a French starter and desert you can more than make up for that.
My favourite starters are les escargots (snails), pâté, and french onion soup.
From the main course choices, I'd recommend the fish stew (Bouillabaisse), the venison (Chevreuil) and the duck (confit de Canard). My favourite deserts are the crepe suzette and Crème brûlée. You can get a mini trio of deserts and that is great if you are almost full and want to share things out with your fellow diners.
All in all a great way to while away a few hours.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2015

A great little popular bistro with a menu that begs one to return to try those 'french favourites - Steak Frites is a great starting place or better still Steak Tartar - the specials of Rabbit casserole are also ones to try.

Reasonably priced this small intimate bistro is a must if visiting Avalon, NSW but book ahead as it is nearly always full.

Good range in the wine list to suit most pockets plus the half carafe of quaffing wine is even better choice if you won't to hold the budget. We normally get out at around $100 a double - a main course finished with "Cafe Grande" desert for a little sweet touch and coffee included along with the half carafe of wine - great value.

Try it .....but book ahead1

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2015

In a suburb better known for its surf and laid back lifestyle, Bistro Boulevard is somewhat of a mirage.....a true Parisian style Bistro with outstanding food and fabulous staff. We dined here on a Saturday evening with family who are locals so we were perhaps a little skeptical about their enthusiasm for the restaurant. But they were quite right! The food is exactly what you would expect from a high quality French establishment and after recent weeks travelling through southern France, much better than anything we had at the place of origin of the cuisine. I chose the cheese souffle to start and it was light and creamy and delicious. Others opted for escargot or scallops or pate. Smiles all round. Main course was the classic steak and fries with Parisian butter or an extremely generous bouillabaisse or duck confit....again everyone was delighted. To finish how could you go wrong with crepes suzette ? No complaints. We had a fabulous meal and the atmosphere was warm and buzzy..It seems we have found a little slice of Paris on the glorious northern beaches. What a find!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2015

This is one of the warmest, most welcoming and consistently great restaurants in Avalon. Nourishing, real food, prepared beautifully. No wonder they've been going in Av for over 30 years! If you are after really good bistro style French cooking, you won't be disappointed and you won't go away hungry!

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank S_at_Avalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2015

The staff are very obliging and knowledgeable about the different plates . There is a great buzzing , and a fabulous aroma in the air . My favourite is the Pomme frittes with steak . The homemade pate'and the duck .

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mouse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bistro Boulevard also viewed

Whale Beach, Pittwater
Narrabeen, Warringah
 
Clareville, Pittwater
Palm Beach, Pittwater
 

Been to Bistro Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.