We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RadishTas
Australia

Lived up to - and exceeded the hype.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2023
We researched where to stay on Norfolk Island, and Channers on Norfolk stood out, so we booked for a week. We were so pleased that we did. The accommodation was outstanding, The bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in, particularly on holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Kerri-Ann and Steve, they happily booked restaurants for us and Steve offered to take us to a restaurant if we wanted to have a wine or three. That turned out to be not needed because the other great thing about Channers is its location, within easy walking distance of town and restaurants. We stayed in their newest unit (7) aka the Ocean View Apartment, with a lovely view over to Philip Island. The attention to detail in the apartment was great, set in beautiful gardens (with ever attendant chooks). If we go back sometime, and it’s a beautiful island- so I hope we do- we wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else.
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: If there’s just the two of you, we recommend the Ocean View Apartment
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Brooks, Owner at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Thank you so much for choosing us in the first place and then having you stay in our fabulous new unit. Lovely to have you with us as you were both good company and so pleased you had such a wonderful visit. We would welcome you both back anytime!

cheers
Kerri-Ann and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Channers on Norfolk
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$264
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Channers on Norfolk
Free parking
Pool
Looking to the Niau Beach House
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Channers on Norfolk
Free parking
Pool
    2.6 km from Channers on Norfolk
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Living Room
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    1.7 km from Channers on Norfolk
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    2.7 km from Channers on Norfolk
    Free parking
    Tern Cottage - Master Bedroom
    • eDreams
    2.6 km from Channers on Norfolk
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
                                                                            front view of Panaroma A
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$155
    • Booking.com
    1.4 km from Channers on Norfolk
    Free parking
    King beds, hardwood floors
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$347
    • Hotels.com
    0.3 km from Channers on Norfolk
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$203
    • Vio.com
    0.7 km from Channers on Norfolk
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Kingston
    Reviews (237)
    Filter reviews
    237 results
    Traveller rating
    211
    23
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    211
    23
    2
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews kerri ann and steve coconut cake burnt pine hire car the kitchen wonderful hosts home away from home one bedroom unit cattle grid making us feel could not have been more helpful phillip island enjoyable week easy walking distance wealth of information explore the island mobile phone
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 237 reviews
    Reviewed 24 October 2023

    Channers on Norfolk is great ! You can't fault the location, the comfort & the cleanliness of the place.
    My friend & I stayed here a week after the hosts Kerri Anne & Steve arranged everything from our flights , accomodation ,an island tour & the trusty little red car for us to see the sights. Nothing was too much trouble for them , they really are the nicest people.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Gail M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Brooks, Owner at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

    Aww shucks :) That's just so sweet. Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and to enjoy all we can offer. It's funny, that little red car gets a lot of praise - must go faster. Loved your company and hope you might come back again one day.

    All the best
    Kerri-Ann and Steve

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 October 2023

    Amazing holiday was had by our group of 17 celebrating a friends 70th birthday.
    We had an amazing holiday, thanks to Steve and Kerri who were the perfect hosts.
    We stayed upstairs in a two bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment . The rest of the group stayed in other apartments on the premises and a group shared the house which had spectacular views from every room , bbq on the balcony.
    The accomodation was perfect in so many ways, spotless, all modern amenities, beautiful large bathroom, King size beds that were so good to sleep in, a car for each apartment , a phone fully charged. Information for shopping, tours and restaurants. We cannot forget to mention the delicious coconut cake Kerri baked for each apartment as a welcome gift.
    We rate the accomodation -10 out of 10.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank fowlerkerrie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Brooks, Owner at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

    Thank you so much for sharing your fun. It was a great group and I can see you all had a great time. We were so pleased everyone seemed to be comfy and cosy in their own space but you all still were able to mingle and socialise.

    Thanks again. Kerri-Ann and Steve

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 September 2023

    We would recommend Channers on Norfolk as a fabulous place to stay whilst exploring the beautiful Norfolk Island.
    Our accommodation was excellent and contained everything you need for your stay.
    Kerri-Anne and Steve make you feel like long lost friends and are extremely accommodating, especially the beautiful coconut cake on arrival, great recommendations and also arranged a cake for our 50th Anniversary.
    Nothing was too much trouble, car was ready for us on arrival at the accommodation.
    We’ll definitely be back and will stay at Channers.
    Regards,
    Sue-Ellen & John C

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Adventure497392
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Brooks, Owner at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2023

    What a way for you to spend celebrating such a wonderful milestone. Thank you for choosing to come and stay with us on beautiful Norfolk Island! Lovely to have you here to enjoy it all and look forward to having you back anytime.
    cheers
    Kerri-Ann and Steve

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 September 2023

    Channers on Norfolk, wow, can’t recommend it enough. The owners/managers, Steve and Kerri-Ann were amazing hosts. They were so welcoming and helpful with any of our questions and requirements, and the unit No 2 was extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly need. They supplied us with a hire car, which definitely got used . The accommodation is very central to most things and even within walking distance to town. Kerri-Ann also greets you with an amazing coconut cake . They definitely have not seen the last of us. 😁. All round stars in our eyes.

    Room tip: Interact with the locals as it helps you connect with the island and the history is humbling , emotional and educational.
    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Karen C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Brooks, Owner at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

    Wow. That's a fabulous way to describe your holiday with us. We are thrilled you came to experience it first hand and thank you for choosing Channers :) You were wonderful guests and we would love to see you again sometime. So pleased you loved it.
    Cheers
    Kerri-Ann and Steve

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 June 2023

    So happy to have booked accommodation at Channers. Close to the main shopping/café/supermarket precinct of Burnt Pine and yet far enough away to not feel part of it (just outside a cattle grid that prevents cattle wandering the main areas of ‘town’). Its’s only a couple of minute’s drive (don’t forget to acknowledge the waves from local drivers as they pass) or 10 minute walk into town. Channers central location means that the most distant parts of the island were no more than 15 minutes away, with the famous Kingston waterfront and Emily Bay for swimming only 5 minutes ‘down town’

    Communication with our hosts, Kerri-Ann and Steve, was excellent and the ambience they have created at Channers went a long way to making us feel welcome and content during our stay.

    The accommodation was terrific and the apartment we stayed in had a large bedroom with a comfortable king size bed, and a sofa, dining and kitchen area. The kitchen was appointed with all the utensils you would need for a longer stay and meticulously clean. The bathroom was good with instantaneous gas hot water meeting your hot water needs. Clean towels and tea towels were provided on 3 occasions during our 10 night stay. Undercover outside seating was provided in 2 areas which meant that you could always find a spot out of the Sun.

    Wifi is provided and it was very reliable.

    One big plus was the provision of a vehicle. You definitely need one as Norfolk Island is much hillier than one suspects and thus getting around the island was a breeze. Checkout was at 10:00am but you get the use to the vehicle until your flight off the island which was, for us, late afternoon. All you have to do is refill the petrol tank and leave the vehicle at the airport. Brilliant!

    Look no further than Channers when you want an excellent place to stay in Norfolk Island. Thanks Kerri-Ann and Steve!

    Date of stay: May 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank L9319RVbob
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Brooks, Owner at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

    Ooooh Yeah - WOW. Thanks so much! That's such a lovely review and we loved having you come and enjoy all we can offer and, of course, our beautiful island. Brilliant.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews