We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Barry G
Boonah, Australia

10 days of total enjoyment

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2021
Flights, car, $1,000,00 resort credit, and some tours thrown in, what more could 1 ask for. Comfortable Cabin, lovely grounds, and a friendly staff all contributed to a great holiday. The menu at the restaurant was good and the boathouse for breakfast had a good selection. The admin staff were all very attentive, Thank yous to Damien, Dianne and all the other folk (who's names escape me) made our stay very enjoyable. If you like history scenic drives and relaxing, then this is the holiday for you.
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: All the cabins are pretty much the same except for 4 more up market cabins.
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey M, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Hi Barry,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Governors Lodge & Norfolk Island. It certainly is a special place to visit! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Looking to the Niau Beach House
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Living Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    1.9 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Tern Cottage - Master Bedroom
    Lol.travel
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Expedia.com
      AU$140
    • Hotels.com
      AU$123
    • Lol.travel
    1.3 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Pretty Ball Bay
    Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    • Agoda.com
      AU$171
    • Expedia.com
    2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Expedia.com
      AU$250
    • Agoda.com
      AU$204
    • Hotels.com
      AU$226
    0.0 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Welcome to Paradise
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Trip.com
    • StayForLong
      AU$6,406
    • Vio.com
    0.2 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Kingston
    Reviews (281)
    Filter reviews
    281 results
    Traveller rating
    109
    126
    23
    12
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    109
    126
    23
    12
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews continental breakfast reception staff individual cabins hire car norfolk island lounge bar reception area comfortable place to stay lovely pool hospitality staff well maintained gardens restaurant located burnt pine enjoyed our stay internet access walking distance to town easy access
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    39 - 44 of 281 reviews
    Reviewed 8 September 2021

    With no expectations we spent an relaxing 7 days at the Governor's Lodge accomodation which included breakfast and a car a a couple of bus trips.
    It was evident that updates were in progress in and around the accommodation.
    We were lucky to get a detached cabin down the back with views over the hills and gardens. It was very adequate with microwave over, kettle and a fridge. Good sized bedroom with plenty of storage. On arrival the curtains were not fitted properly and were in need of replacement. On mentioning the problem new curtains the correct size and fit were in the room within a couple of hours. Great service.
    The bathroom was very outdated and very dirty. It also had a leak from the shower base onto the bathroom floor. The leak was fixed immediately I mentioned it. The cleaning was better but still very poor. I was informed that the bathrooms were being refurbished shortly.
    The lounge area was very cosy with the gas heater on ( very necessary in the evenings). The sofas were uncomfortable, especially the sofa bed.
    Breakfast was served in an open air area near reception. Although there were overhead gas heaters it was very chilly and on windy days not at all ideal for eating a hot breakfast!
    Meals and drinks served in the Cafe next to reception throughout the day were very good although not much variety. Be warned the same food is served in the Restaurant at night for a good deal more money, so if you can eat before 5pm at the Cafe its worthwhile.
    The car rental was Crest Auto Rentals ( a subsidiary of the lodge). They have a large fleet of smaller cars for customers which are allocated to the lodges before arrival. Some are in better condition than others. The car we had went very well and did excellent miles to the kilometre . Maintenance on the body work was very poor, it was in need of a lot of attention. The automatic key opening did not work. They do not keep batteries in them!!!
    The island is very small. Picturesque and historical, amazing and enjoyable. The people are very friendly and very proud of their heritage.
    A place worth a visit, but a week was ling enough.
    Be warned:
    You can take food with you. Food is expensive there. I took cheese, tins of soup crackers, cask of wine etc. anything you like. Supplies are scarce in the shops, especially since COVID>

    Room tip: If you want more seclusion ask for one down the back. But this must be done when you first book.
    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank wendy margaret M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mark K, General Manager at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

    Thank you for visiting Norfolk and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience here at Governors Lodge.

    It was great to know that you had a relaxing time and overall enjoyed your stay.

    I certainly apologize if some features of your cabin ( note all our cabins are detached) were not up to your standard. I do remember inspecting the cabin personally with you and immediately directing our housekeeping team up revisit areas you were not satisfied with. Yes correct, we are continually upgrading and investing in the resort.

    In terms of the restaurant offerings, I can clarify that the menus from the Café lounge to Baileys restaurant are certainly different. These can be viewed on our website. I would also add that the ambience and experience is different in each location. It was great to hear you enjoyed the food at the lounge bar. We have also added daily specials here for more variety.

    It was good to hear your car went well. Yes the keys are an issue with the manufacture and we are working on this.

    Thank you again for your feedback which we will use to constantly improve our service and our guest experience and we thank you once again for visiting Norfolk Island.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 July 2021

    My hubby and I have stayed at Governors Lodge three times now and would thoroughly recommend it. The cabins r a delight as there is privacy and surprisingly comfortable. Spent Christmas last year here, went back in June and hope to return again before years end.
    The restaurant has delicious meals, breakfast is very good and the cafe excellent for snacks etc. staff very helpful and pleasant.
    Marilyn on reception is a gem. Always happy and smiling and goes above and beyond to help. She is a true asset.

    Room tip: Cabin near pool and laundry an advantage
    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank precious112
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

    Thank you so much for the lovely review! We agree that we are very lucky to have Merrilyn on the team- she really is a gem! We look forward to welcoming you back to Norfolk Island & Governors Lodge again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 May 2021

    We stayed at the Governors Lodge Resort for 7 Nights in May 2021 (not long enough). We have stayed in hotels around the US and Europe but this Resort was better by far. The rooms were clean and tidy and provided everything you needed for your stay. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could possibly be. Baileys Restaurant served up what was possibly the best steak we had ever eaten but there are many other options which were a credit to the chef. The cafe was an excellent place to kill some time before heading off on a journey to another memorable part of the island. The resort offered airport pick up and transfers and arranged for a hire car to be sitting outside your unit ready to go. Any activity you want to take on the island can be organised through the helpful reception staff. We have travelled the world and all in all it was amongst the best holidays we have ever had. Our thanks go out to the hosts Matt and Stacey for a fantastic holiday

    Room tip: Most rooms have good view but there are some with limited ocean views. The overall the layout of the resort makes all rooms great value
    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank trmartin123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

    Thank you so much! We're so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience at Governor's Lodge & on Norfolk Island. The steak frites at Bailey's is our most popular menu item & for good reason. We have also just launched a new expended menu this week with lots of other fantastic options. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 May 2021 via mobile

    BAILEYS is The very best. Great venue, fantastic food. Once discovered we returned. The tuna spring rolls are a fabulous entree. My husbands steak was perfecto. My delicate fish and fresh vegetables meal and my so yummy chocolate dessert were wonderful. Thank you everyone. Such fabulous staff!!

    Date of stay: May 2021
    1  Thank enJ012
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

    Thank you for the lovely review! We are so pleased you had an enjoyable meal at Bailey's. We are excited to have released a new expanded menu this week & would love to see you again if you ever revisit beautiful Norfolk Island.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 April 2021

    Baileys Restaurant located at The Governor's Lodge, nice place. Lamb shank with grains and grilled carrots excellent and Eye filet very good but a tad over cooked for medium rare, asparagus and carrots mushy could not eat. Meringue with berries very nice.

    Date of stay: April 2021
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Lyn A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

    Hi Lyn,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Bailey's Restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal. I will pass your feedback on to the chefs so that we can continue to improve the quality of our meals.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews