We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
AU$315
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
109
126
23
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
109
126
23
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast reception staff individual cabins hire car norfolk island lounge bar reception area comfortable place to stay lovely pool hospitality staff well maintained gardens restaurant located burnt pine enjoyed our stay internet access walking distance to town easy access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2021

We just loved our seven night stay at the Governors Lodge. We were travelling with good friends (another couple from home), we each had a little cottage that was spacious, clean and comfortable - the bed was very comfortable as well. The gardens were immaculate and just delightful to wander around. The pool and spa were wonderful after an afternoon at the beach. One recent review said the pool was cold and only one jet working in the spa - not the case for us (maybe they didn't push the button on the wall for "bubbles"). The pool was warm enough and it was great to hop back in to the hot spa afterwards - with all jets working! The daily breakfast at the Boathouse was a highlight - always delicious, and generous servings in a lovely setting. We also ate at Bailey's twice, and on the deck of the lounge bar beside reception - all delicious. The staff were always friendly and helpful - by the time we left we felt like we had made new friends - many thanks to Damian Quintal at reception, and the whole team at the Governors for looking after us so well. Having the rental car from Crest Rentals waiting for us was fabulous, you definitely need it to get around the Island. Cannot fault our stay, it was such an awesome break. Norfolk Island is just beautiful, clean and immaculately maintained. The locals are incredibly friendly, welcoming and proud of their amazing heritage and beautiful Island. We booked our package through Spacifica Travel - great value and the included tours really worth doing to learn about the incredible history of Norfolk Island from the friendly informative local guides - Thanks Larry and David, and to Rachel for the fun ghost tour! Cannot wait to come back, will definitely stay at the Governors again...huge thanks to everyone!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kayw342
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Governors Lodge. We are proud to be able to offer all day dining across our 3 venues & are pleased you were able to experience & enjoy them all. I will pass on your kind words to Damian & the team too. We hope to welcome you back to Norfolk Island one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2021

We arrived on Easter Monday and had one week stay at this lodge. Basically, it was quite passable, the first night we realised we had no lighting to in the room and upon inspection, realised that there were no globes in the lights. Yes - quite bizzare!

I contacted reception to inform them about this situation to be told that they had one globe available, but after a few minutes it overheated and flickered so had to be taken out. I was informed the next morning that an electrician would come and inspect the unit and fix the lights. The young apprentice arrived at 5pm and could not fix most of the lights because he didn't have light globes suitable for the sockets - and one socket was broken and had to be replaced. - Yes! - very frustrating.

As well, the light beside the bed did not turn on and I informed the electrician apprentice, who informed me that he would definately fix it. After he fixed this light, it was able to turn on but we could not turn it off. Therefore, every night we had to unscrew the light bulb so we could turn the light off. - Yes - we told them.

Breakfast was very interesting each day. Young staff and they never could remember what we ordered so we had to continually remind them and often were given someone else's meal.

The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom could definately do with with a make-over. I had to use the window sill to put my bathroom stuff because there was only a very small hand basin available that had not room.

Loved the gardens. They advertised a 'heated pool' but not heated. Very cold water!

The spa was the only place to relax with warm water but needs to be serviced because only one jet was working.

Apparently, Govener's lodge is the best place to stay - according to locals.

Therefore, check out your room before staying because they obviously do not do a regular check on rooms.

We

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank werombar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I agree the lighting situation must have been frustrating & I will check & make sure that the problem has now been resolved. The pool is definitely not heated, but we do advertise a heated spa & this is serviced regularly. There is a bubbles button that you need to press to activate the jets. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Norfolk Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021

We stayed March 2021. The office staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The included breakfast was one choice from the menu, no drink was included. We brought our own cuppa with us.
Our room had a microwave and a kettle. Our room was very clean. The furniture was well used but quite adequate. There was a small BBQ in the pool area. Need to cook before 7pm as pool area closes. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1961george
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2021

Thank you so much for your review of Governor's Lodge. We are pleased to say that we have taken guest feedback onboard & now include filter coffee & tea with our pre-paid breakfast package. We hope to welcome you back again if you ever decide to return to Norfolk Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

While we didn’t stay at Governors Lodge, we visited each day a d maybe should have stayed here. I am writing the review as this is one of the few places you can get something to eat for a very late lunch when your flight arrives round three pm and let’s face it qantas biscuit and water on the flight doesn’t keep you going for long, but I guess that’s another story. Anyway we went here for lunch and a drink at around 3pm after we checked into our accommodation, enjoyed a pulled pork burger and chips each, a beer and then coffee. Other days we had delicious scones, home baked biscuits and coffee. On the day we were to fly home we bought delicious sandwiches to eat on the flight. The staff were wonderful, friendly and polite, particularly the younger staff.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RickyG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are very proud to be able to offer all day dining to all travellers & locals. We are so pleased your enjoyed your coffee & meals & would love to have you stay with us if you ever do return to beautiful Norfolk Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

Self contained cabins (bar fridge, small microwave, electric kettle etc), re previous comments about room service.... you only have to ask if you need extra towels, roll toot paper, and glass/plastics and general rubbish you can clear in bi s provided (there were spare bin liners in the bin in your room).
Staff were really good especially breakfast staff and 'Very' at reception. Espresso coffee is extra cost which i can understand (remote island and difficult getting supplies etc) but the filtered/percolated coffee is included and sufficient to get heart going in the morning. We had breakfast included with package (recommended). The spa and pool area really good... they're progressively repainting exterior of cabins and will possibly do interior over time. Again remote island, consider the cost of importing building materials and hardware etc, hat's off to the owners. Oh, Bailey's restaurant was open and food excellentp (recommend you book), entree scallops, tuna spring rolls with plum sauce and asian slaw, main of salmon, and mushroom risotto. Nice flavours.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ameliasimonep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Governors Lodge. We certainly have additional challenges living on a remote island but we are doing our best to continuously maintain & improve the standard of the hotel. We have made some good progress with renovations over the last 9 months & will continue to do so! We are also very excited to offer our guests all day dining options throughout the 3 dining venues. Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews