We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amelia Simone P
Maroochydore

Comfortable, everything we needed and great location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2021via mobile
Self contained cabins (bar fridge, small microwave, electric kettle etc), re previous comments about room service.... you only have to ask if you need extra towels, roll toot paper, and glass/plastics and general rubbish you can clear in bi s provided (there were spare bin liners in the bin in your room).
Staff were really good especially breakfast staff and 'Very' at reception. Espresso coffee is extra cost which i can understand (remote island and difficult getting supplies etc) but the filtered/percolated coffee is included and sufficient to get heart going in the morning. We had breakfast included with package (recommended). The spa and pool area really good... they're progressively repainting exterior of cabins and will possibly do interior over time. Again remote island, consider the cost of importing building materials and hardware etc, hat's off to the owners. Oh, Bailey's restaurant was open and food excellentp (recommend you book), entree scallops, tuna spring rolls with plum sauce and asian slaw, main of salmon, and mushroom risotto. Nice flavours.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey M, Guest Services / Front Office at Governor's Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 8 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Governors Lodge. We certainly have additional challenges living on a remote island but we are doing our best to continuously maintain & improve the standard of the hotel. We have made some good progress with renovations over the last 9 months & will continue to do so! We are also very excited to offer our guests all day dining options throughout the 3 dining venues. Thanks again for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Looking to the Niau Beach House
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
AU$140
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$123
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pretty Ball Bay
Vio.com
AU$171
  • Agoda.com
    AU$171
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Priceline
AU$225
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$250
  • Agoda.com
    AU$204
  • Hotels.com
    AU$226
0.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Welcome to Paradise
Priceline
AU$6,468
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$6,152
  • Vio.com
    AU$6,089
  • StayForLong
    AU$6,406
0.2 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Unit 12
Vio.com
AU$83
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$83
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
King beds, hardwood floors
Booking.com
AU$305
  • Expedia.com
    AU$350
  • Agoda.com
    AU$260
  • Priceline
    AU$284
0.6 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$211
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$206
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$206
  • StayForLong
1.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kingston
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
109
126
23
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
109
126
23
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast reception staff individual cabins hire car norfolk island lounge bar reception area comfortable place to stay lovely pool hospitality staff well maintained gardens restaurant located burnt pine enjoyed our stay internet access walking distance to town easy access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2021

The hotel location is close enough to town centre to walk and far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Cabins are spacious with all amenities. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly plus very efficient.
All cabins will be upgraded over the next couple of years with new kitchens and bath rooms plus fresh paint which will only make this facility even more appealing.

Room tip: All cabins are separate, on ground level and offer quiet accommodation. Enjoy a drink on the verandah in the afternoon.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 469graemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Governor's Lodge & hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021

From Reception to the Restaurant & everything in between - the service was great & all the staff were friendly! Private little cabin of your own in delightful surroundings & very quiet.
Pool replacement towels given whenever asked & coffee/tea topped up when needed - nothing was too much trouble!
Handy location; could walk to the main shops.
Heated spa pool was a dream.

Date of stay: March 2021
1  Thank verenakelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Governor's Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2021

Very unorganised on arrival. Room was smelly. Cooked breakfast does not include coffee/tea. Extra $5.50 for coffee and excuse used was "we have to make money somehow". Some staff rude. We could not use the first hire car as it was smelly and wet front seat. They did get another car without too much delay. Great position.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DiandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We have taken this on board and the pre-paid breakfast now includes filter coffee and tea. I apologise if you encountered any rude staff as our goal is to provide a warm & welcoming atmosphere at all times. Hopefully you enjoyed your time on our beautiful Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

Our little bungalow was ok but not clean. We understood there was service to the room after 4 days but they only cleaned the trash bins. We had to go and ask for clean towels and ended up using our beach towels. The carpet wasn't vacuumed and this was evidenced by our constantly dirty feet! In this time of COVID, you would expect better, but no. The staff didn't seem to know anything. Every question we asked was answered with I don't know, ask someone else. None of the waitresses knew anything about how the food was served for breakfast and we were told the restaurant would be opening on Wednesday. Well which Wednesday, because it wasn't open. Service just did not exist.

Room tip: If you are fussy about pillows, bring your own. The ones supplied are very fat and lumpy.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ging466
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Governor's Lodge is currently rated 3.5 stars. We are a fairly new team having reopened under new ownership in November 2020, and we are working towards improving both the hotel quality through ongoing renovations, and also the overall customer experience. We have addressed the housekeeping department & also the breakfast wait staff regarding your concerns & do apologise. We are pleased to announce that Bailey's Restaurant reopened after renovations on the 17th of February 2021. We hope that you enjoyed your time on Norfolk Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

The hotel is in a fantastic location. But a rental car is a must to see all of the island. Disappointed that the restaurant was not open yet. We had lead to believe it would be. breakfast was served in a different location and very good. Our accommodation was good and comfortable. However, despite numerous inquires and then complains never saw us get any room service, even though we were advised that we would get it half way through our stay. We never got any clean linens or towels. Ended up using the pool towels in the room.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheilamacandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Bailey's restaurant recently re-opened after renovations on the 17th February so you must have just missed out! We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast in the Boatshed though. We do apologise for any disappointment regarding your mid-stay service & we have addressed the housekeeping department to make sure that this does not happen again. We hope you enjoyed visiting Norfolk Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews