We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Graeme D

Highly recommend this business

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2021
The hotel location is close enough to town centre to walk and far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Cabins are spacious with all amenities. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly plus very efficient.
All cabins will be upgraded over the next couple of years with new kitchens and bath rooms plus fresh paint which will only make this facility even more appealing.
Date of stay: March 2021
Room Tip: All cabins are separate, on ground level and offer quiet accommodation. Enjoy a drink on the...
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 25 Mar 2021
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Governor's Lodge & hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Looking to the Niau Beach House
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Living Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    1.9 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Tern Cottage - Master Bedroom
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    AU$140
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    1.3 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Booking.com
      2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
        AU$249
      • ZenHotels.com
        AU$241
      • eDreams
      0.0 km from Governor's Lodge
      Free parking
      Pool
      King beds, hardwood floors
      Tripadvisor
      AU$349
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        AU$349
      0.6 km from Governor's Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Kingston
      Reviews (281)
      Filter reviews
      281 results
      Traveller rating
      109
      126
      23
      12
      11
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      109
      126
      23
      12
      11
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews continental breakfast reception staff individual cabins hire car norfolk island lounge bar reception area comfortable place to stay lovely pool hospitality staff well maintained gardens restaurant located burnt pine enjoyed our stay internet access walking distance to town easy access
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      51 - 56 of 281 reviews
      Reviewed 21 March 2021

      From Reception to the Restaurant & everything in between - the service was great & all the staff were friendly! Private little cabin of your own in delightful surroundings & very quiet.
      Pool replacement towels given whenever asked & coffee/tea topped up when needed - nothing was too much trouble!
      Handy location; could walk to the main shops.
      Heated spa pool was a dream.

      Date of stay: March 2021
      1  Thank verenakelvin
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Governor's Lodge.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 March 2021

      Very unorganised on arrival. Room was smelly. Cooked breakfast does not include coffee/tea. Extra $5.50 for coffee and excuse used was "we have to make money somehow". Some staff rude. We could not use the first hire car as it was smelly and wet front seat. They did get another car without too much delay. Great position.

      Date of stay: March 2021
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank DiandPhil
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We have taken this on board and the pre-paid breakfast now includes filter coffee and tea. I apologise if you encountered any rude staff as our goal is to provide a warm & welcoming atmosphere at all times. Hopefully you enjoyed your time on our beautiful Island.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 24 February 2021

      Our little bungalow was ok but not clean. We understood there was service to the room after 4 days but they only cleaned the trash bins. We had to go and ask for clean towels and ended up using our beach towels. The carpet wasn't vacuumed and this was evidenced by our constantly dirty feet! In this time of COVID, you would expect better, but no. The staff didn't seem to know anything. Every question we asked was answered with I don't know, ask someone else. None of the waitresses knew anything about how the food was served for breakfast and we were told the restaurant would be opening on Wednesday. Well which Wednesday, because it wasn't open. Service just did not exist.

      Room tip: If you are fussy about pillows, bring your own. The ones supplied are very fat and lumpy.
      Date of stay: February 2021
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank ging466
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Governor's Lodge is currently rated 3.5 stars. We are a fairly new team having reopened under new ownership in November 2020, and we are working towards improving both the hotel quality through ongoing renovations, and also the overall customer experience. We have addressed the housekeeping department & also the breakfast wait staff regarding your concerns & do apologise. We are pleased to announce that Bailey's Restaurant reopened after renovations on the 17th of February 2021. We hope that you enjoyed your time on Norfolk Island!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 February 2021

      The hotel is in a fantastic location. But a rental car is a must to see all of the island. Disappointed that the restaurant was not open yet. We had lead to believe it would be. breakfast was served in a different location and very good. Our accommodation was good and comfortable. However, despite numerous inquires and then complains never saw us get any room service, even though we were advised that we would get it half way through our stay. We never got any clean linens or towels. Ended up using the pool towels in the room.

      Date of stay: February 2021
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Sheilamacandrew
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Bailey's restaurant recently re-opened after renovations on the 17th February so you must have just missed out! We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast in the Boatshed though. We do apologise for any disappointment regarding your mid-stay service & we have addressed the housekeeping department to make sure that this does not happen again. We hope you enjoyed visiting Norfolk Island!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 17 March 2020

      Don’t listen to the 2 recent bad reviews in March!! These people are just nit pickers. My husband and I visited 1/3 to 8/3 same time as another couple who posted a bad review. The staff couldn’t be more helpful. Our tv wasn’t working on the second day after a storm and it was fixed immediately. I bought wifi for $20 and had a problem. Fixed immediately. Given an umbrella when raining. You just had to ask and we would receive. Vaccuming not necessary as we didn’t leave a mess. Kitchen not necessary as we didn’t cook. We went out for dinner to sample the delicious seafood. Continental breakfast was just that and adequate. Hot breakfast was $22 per person. And it was from 7am to 9am. Not 10am. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Our room was in a good position and we had a lovely breeze on the verandah and ceiling fans kept us cool at night. Our hire car was waiting for us outside our room. Why would people need copious amounts of toilet paper and tissues? They should’ve bought their own if they had problems. And why would people require clean towels every day? Were they not aware of the signs in the rooms stating that the island has a water shortage and also short of all supplies as their boat bringing essentials is not due till April. One has to wonder how the bad reviewers are coping with the coronavirus. The hotel is 3 star and not 4 star. Basic but nice. If you are used to high end hotels then Norfolk is not for you. Norfolk is stunning with its scenery and it’s history is very interesting. It is island living and is a step back in time. The locals are lovely. Just go with it and enjoy. Many thanks to Shirleen and the other staff for a great stay!!

      Date of stay: March 2020
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      7  Thank mazzieSydney
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews