We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sheila
Townsville, Australia

great location.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2021
The hotel is in a fantastic location. But a rental car is a must to see all of the island. Disappointed that the restaurant was not open yet. We had lead to believe it would be. breakfast was served in a different location and very good. Our accommodation was good and comfortable. However, despite numerous inquires and then complains never saw us get any room service, even though we were advised that we would get it half way through our stay. We never got any clean linens or towels. Ended up using the pool towels in the room.
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Governor's Lodge, Marketing at Governor's Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Bailey's restaurant recently re-opened after renovations on the 17th February so you must have just missed out! We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast in the Boatshed though. We do apologise for any disappointment regarding your mid-stay service & we have addressed the housekeeping department to make sure that this does not happen again. We hope you enjoyed visiting Norfolk Island!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Looking to the Niau Beach House
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Ocean Views from all apartments
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Living Room
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Tern Cottage - Master Bedroom
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
                                                                        front view of Panaroma A
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$108
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
    2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$242
    • Priceline
    0.0 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    King beds, hardwood floors
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$350
    • Booking.com
    0.6 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kingston
    Reviews (281)
    Filter reviews
    281 results
    Traveller rating
    109
    126
    23
    12
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    109
    126
    23
    12
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews continental breakfast reception staff individual cabins hire car norfolk island lounge bar reception area comfortable place to stay lovely pool hospitality staff well maintained gardens restaurant located burnt pine enjoyed our stay internet access walking distance to town easy access
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    55 - 60 of 281 reviews
    Reviewed 17 March 2020

    Don’t listen to the 2 recent bad reviews in March!! These people are just nit pickers. My husband and I visited 1/3 to 8/3 same time as another couple who posted a bad review. The staff couldn’t be more helpful. Our tv wasn’t working on the second day after a storm and it was fixed immediately. I bought wifi for $20 and had a problem. Fixed immediately. Given an umbrella when raining. You just had to ask and we would receive. Vaccuming not necessary as we didn’t leave a mess. Kitchen not necessary as we didn’t cook. We went out for dinner to sample the delicious seafood. Continental breakfast was just that and adequate. Hot breakfast was $22 per person. And it was from 7am to 9am. Not 10am. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Our room was in a good position and we had a lovely breeze on the verandah and ceiling fans kept us cool at night. Our hire car was waiting for us outside our room. Why would people need copious amounts of toilet paper and tissues? They should’ve bought their own if they had problems. And why would people require clean towels every day? Were they not aware of the signs in the rooms stating that the island has a water shortage and also short of all supplies as their boat bringing essentials is not due till April. One has to wonder how the bad reviewers are coping with the coronavirus. The hotel is 3 star and not 4 star. Basic but nice. If you are used to high end hotels then Norfolk is not for you. Norfolk is stunning with its scenery and it’s history is very interesting. It is island living and is a step back in time. The locals are lovely. Just go with it and enjoy. Many thanks to Shirleen and the other staff for a great stay!!

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    7  Thank mazzieSydney
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 March 2020

    We stayed at the governors Lodge for 7 days, the following is what we experienced.
    • Cobwebs on all of the cabin windows and door
    • The cabin smelt stale and dusty
    • As the office was closed on Sunday so we had to purchase toilet paper
    • By the midweek clean we were out of soap, only had half a dozen sheets of toilet paper left and tissues, on return to our cabin in the afternoon, it had been cleaned, except the floor had not been vacuumed and we still had no soap, no new toilet paper and no tissues, I approached the office who supplied 1 soap, 1 toilet paper and 1 tissues.
    • I had to go to the office and ask for additional toilet paper on three additional occasions as I was only given 1 roll at a time and I had to ask for additional soap.
    • Fruit was only part of the continental breakfast on one day.
    • The breakfast long life milk was off on one day and the scones we stale every third day
    • You could not upgrade from continental to a full breakfast, if you wanted a full breakfast you had to pay full price.
    • By 9 am you had the feeling that breakfast was over, even though it finished at 10 am.
    • The gardens very poor, the grass has not been cut

    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank David P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 March 2020

    Nice quiet secluded unit, fans in each room, clean n tidy. Reception staff friendly. Was a bit disappointed not explained about hot breakfast availability but continental breakfast wws ok. Close enough to town. All tours picked up from here as well

    Room tip: Ask for a room at back of property
    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Jackie H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 March 2020

    Stayed at the this Hotel 1/3-8/3/2020, It is NOT a 4 star hotel. When we arrived there were no towels,hand towels in the unit. It states that there is housekeeping but we didn't see one person and we had to ask for clean towels each day. The units were clean but there were cockroaches there. It was supposed to be self-contained with a kitchenette but there was no Toaster.Washing up detergent watered down that didn't soap up to wash dishes. Very poor!

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Thank Linda C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 February 2020

    We came here with a tour package.
    Definitely need a car to get around, no public transport. Walking distance to town but not that close around 1 km, especially if walking in the hot sun.
    Comfortable executive cabin. Some units have views over nearby farm land.
    Customer service not their forte indifferent to requests, blow light bulb not replaced, bathroom fan not working, room fans extremely noisy even on low speed, especially if you are trying to sleep, also reported by others. No air con so fans need to run when you are in the rooms.
    King bed mattress top very thin and bed springs stick into you. Interestingly others also has the same complaint of poor condition of the mattresses. Some asked for mattress topper but to no avail, we partly solved it by using 2 blankets folded in half, on top of the mattress.
    Nice pool and spa area.
    Continental breakfast included in the tour package,was repetitive as food was running short on the island, a full breakfast could not be upgraded to from Continental, a $7/day difference. You had to pay the full $22 to upgrade.
    Bailey's restaurant on site permanently closed. One couple had paid for dinners in advance by the tour organizer, credit given to go to another one.
    Nice gardens but badly neglected partly due to the severe shortage of water due to the drought. The Army is currently here in Norfolk with portable desal plant for 6 weeks!
    Time for an upgrade to the place.
    Take the orientation tour of the island as soon as you get there, some people had theirs half way during their stay.
    Confirm all your tour times and dates with the tour operator, things can change with no or little contact. You need to be inquisitive to get info and be flexible, shops shut at various times during the week or some at lunch times.

    Date of stay: February 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank skiclubtraveller
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews