We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MazzieSydney
Sydney, Australia

Very happy !!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2020
Don’t listen to the 2 recent bad reviews in March!! These people are just nit pickers. My husband and I visited 1/3 to 8/3 same time as another couple who posted a bad review. The staff couldn’t be more helpful. Our tv wasn’t working on the second day after a storm and it was fixed immediately. I bought wifi for $20 and had a problem. Fixed immediately. Given an umbrella when raining. You just had to ask and we would receive. Vaccuming not necessary as we didn’t leave a mess. Kitchen not necessary as we didn’t cook. We went out for dinner to sample the delicious seafood. Continental breakfast was just that and adequate. Hot breakfast was $22 per person. And it was from 7am to 9am. Not 10am. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Our room was in a good position and we had a lovely breeze on the verandah and ceiling fans kept us cool at night. Our hire car was waiting for us outside our room. Why would people need copious amounts of toilet paper and tissues? They should’ve bought their own if they had problems. And why would people require clean towels every day? Were they not aware of the signs in the rooms stating that the island has a water shortage and also short of all supplies as their boat bringing essentials is not due till April. One has to wonder how the bad reviewers are coping with the coronavirus. The hotel is 3 star and not 4 star. Basic but nice. If you are used to high end hotels then Norfolk is not for you. Norfolk is stunning with its scenery and it’s history is very interesting. It is island living and is a step back in time. The locals are lovely. Just go with it and enjoy. Many thanks to Shirleen and the other staff for a great stay!!
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Looking to the Niau Beach House
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
                                                                        front view of Panaroma A
AU$113
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$110
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pretty Ball Bay
AU$159
  • Agoda.com
    AU$158
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
AU$203
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$220
  • Agoda.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$220
0.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Welcome to Paradise
AU$6,474
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$6,228
  • StayForLong
    AU$6,580
0.2 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Unit 12
AU$87
Fully refundable
No booking fees
  • Vio.com
    AU$87
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
King beds, hardwood floors
AU$213
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$213
  • Expedia.com
    AU$355
  • Hotels.com
    AU$320
0.6 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$237
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$237
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
  • Expedia.com
    AU$224
1.2 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kingston
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
109
126
23
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
109
126
23
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast reception staff individual cabins hire car norfolk island lounge bar reception area comfortable place to stay lovely pool hospitality staff well maintained gardens restaurant located burnt pine enjoyed our stay internet access walking distance to town easy access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2020

We stayed at the governors Lodge for 7 days, the following is what we experienced.
• Cobwebs on all of the cabin windows and door
• The cabin smelt stale and dusty
• As the office was closed on Sunday so we had to purchase toilet paper
• By the midweek clean we were out of soap, only had half a dozen sheets of toilet paper left and tissues, on return to our cabin in the afternoon, it had been cleaned, except the floor had not been vacuumed and we still had no soap, no new toilet paper and no tissues, I approached the office who supplied 1 soap, 1 toilet paper and 1 tissues.
• I had to go to the office and ask for additional toilet paper on three additional occasions as I was only given 1 roll at a time and I had to ask for additional soap.
• Fruit was only part of the continental breakfast on one day.
• The breakfast long life milk was off on one day and the scones we stale every third day
• You could not upgrade from continental to a full breakfast, if you wanted a full breakfast you had to pay full price.
• By 9 am you had the feeling that breakfast was over, even though it finished at 10 am.
• The gardens very poor, the grass has not been cut

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Nice quiet secluded unit, fans in each room, clean n tidy. Reception staff friendly. Was a bit disappointed not explained about hot breakfast availability but continental breakfast wws ok. Close enough to town. All tours picked up from here as well

Room tip: Ask for a room at back of property
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Stayed at the this Hotel 1/3-8/3/2020, It is NOT a 4 star hotel. When we arrived there were no towels,hand towels in the unit. It states that there is housekeeping but we didn't see one person and we had to ask for clean towels each day. The units were clean but there were cockroaches there. It was supposed to be self-contained with a kitchenette but there was no Toaster.Washing up detergent watered down that didn't soap up to wash dishes. Very poor!

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2020

We came here with a tour package.
Definitely need a car to get around, no public transport. Walking distance to town but not that close around 1 km, especially if walking in the hot sun.
Comfortable executive cabin. Some units have views over nearby farm land.
Customer service not their forte indifferent to requests, blow light bulb not replaced, bathroom fan not working, room fans extremely noisy even on low speed, especially if you are trying to sleep, also reported by others. No air con so fans need to run when you are in the rooms.
King bed mattress top very thin and bed springs stick into you. Interestingly others also has the same complaint of poor condition of the mattresses. Some asked for mattress topper but to no avail, we partly solved it by using 2 blankets folded in half, on top of the mattress.
Nice pool and spa area.
Continental breakfast included in the tour package,was repetitive as food was running short on the island, a full breakfast could not be upgraded to from Continental, a $7/day difference. You had to pay the full $22 to upgrade.
Bailey's restaurant on site permanently closed. One couple had paid for dinners in advance by the tour organizer, credit given to go to another one.
Nice gardens but badly neglected partly due to the severe shortage of water due to the drought. The Army is currently here in Norfolk with portable desal plant for 6 weeks!
Time for an upgrade to the place.
Take the orientation tour of the island as soon as you get there, some people had theirs half way during their stay.
Confirm all your tour times and dates with the tour operator, things can change with no or little contact. You need to be inquisitive to get info and be flexible, shops shut at various times during the week or some at lunch times.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skiclubtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2020

We stayed here 12 months ago & were very happy with the accommodation etc. This time it was not at all what we remembered! The bungalow was very neglected! The grounds were unkept & the pool was filthy! I kept expecting it to be cleaned but not once in the whole week we were there. The hire car we were given was old & grubby! We were told the room would be serviced after 4 days but had to ask for it to be done. We put our dirty towels & beach towel on the floor in the morning & came back in the afternoon & still not done! Had to get clean beach towels before we went to the beach! As for the room being serviced, all they did was change the bath towels! No clean which was desperately needed by then as we had killed dozens if cockroaches! Inside! Used up a can of spray on little brown & large black ones! The breakfast was ok. Not as generous as last year. They do have a food shortage on the island so understand. Will definitely not be staying here again!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews