We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jackie H
Swansea, Australia

Governors Lodge

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2020
Nice quiet secluded unit, fans in each room, clean n tidy. Reception staff friendly. Was a bit disappointed not explained about hot breakfast availability but continental breakfast wws ok. Close enough to town. All tours picked up from here as well
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of property
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Looking to the Niau Beach House
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.0 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Living Room
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
Tern Cottage - Master Bedroom
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
Free parking
    2.3 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
                                                                            front view of Panaroma A
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$155
    • Booking.com
    1.3 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$266
    • Priceline
    0.0 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    King beds, hardwood floors
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$349
    • Booking.com
    0.6 km from Governor's Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kingston
    Reviews (281)
    Filter reviews
    281 results
    Traveller rating
    109
    126
    23
    12
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    109
    126
    23
    12
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews continental breakfast reception staff individual cabins hire car norfolk island lounge bar reception area comfortable place to stay lovely pool hospitality staff well maintained gardens restaurant located burnt pine enjoyed our stay internet access walking distance to town easy access
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    58 - 63 of 281 reviews
    Reviewed 9 March 2020

    Stayed at the this Hotel 1/3-8/3/2020, It is NOT a 4 star hotel. When we arrived there were no towels,hand towels in the unit. It states that there is housekeeping but we didn't see one person and we had to ask for clean towels each day. The units were clean but there were cockroaches there. It was supposed to be self-contained with a kitchenette but there was no Toaster.Washing up detergent watered down that didn't soap up to wash dishes. Very poor!

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Thank Linda C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 February 2020

    We came here with a tour package.
    Definitely need a car to get around, no public transport. Walking distance to town but not that close around 1 km, especially if walking in the hot sun.
    Comfortable executive cabin. Some units have views over nearby farm land.
    Customer service not their forte indifferent to requests, blow light bulb not replaced, bathroom fan not working, room fans extremely noisy even on low speed, especially if you are trying to sleep, also reported by others. No air con so fans need to run when you are in the rooms.
    King bed mattress top very thin and bed springs stick into you. Interestingly others also has the same complaint of poor condition of the mattresses. Some asked for mattress topper but to no avail, we partly solved it by using 2 blankets folded in half, on top of the mattress.
    Nice pool and spa area.
    Continental breakfast included in the tour package,was repetitive as food was running short on the island, a full breakfast could not be upgraded to from Continental, a $7/day difference. You had to pay the full $22 to upgrade.
    Bailey's restaurant on site permanently closed. One couple had paid for dinners in advance by the tour organizer, credit given to go to another one.
    Nice gardens but badly neglected partly due to the severe shortage of water due to the drought. The Army is currently here in Norfolk with portable desal plant for 6 weeks!
    Time for an upgrade to the place.
    Take the orientation tour of the island as soon as you get there, some people had theirs half way during their stay.
    Confirm all your tour times and dates with the tour operator, things can change with no or little contact. You need to be inquisitive to get info and be flexible, shops shut at various times during the week or some at lunch times.

    Date of stay: February 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank skiclubtraveller
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 January 2020

    We stayed here 12 months ago & were very happy with the accommodation etc. This time it was not at all what we remembered! The bungalow was very neglected! The grounds were unkept & the pool was filthy! I kept expecting it to be cleaned but not once in the whole week we were there. The hire car we were given was old & grubby! We were told the room would be serviced after 4 days but had to ask for it to be done. We put our dirty towels & beach towel on the floor in the morning & came back in the afternoon & still not done! Had to get clean beach towels before we went to the beach! As for the room being serviced, all they did was change the bath towels! No clean which was desperately needed by then as we had killed dozens if cockroaches! Inside! Used up a can of spray on little brown & large black ones! The breakfast was ok. Not as generous as last year. They do have a food shortage on the island so understand. Will definitely not be staying here again!

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Lyn J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 January 2020

    We have stayed here twice before and had a fantastic stay with the last it was almost a joke. We had to ask for towels and room to be serviced and we weren't welcomed like last visit in July 2018. No manager welcoming no restaurant open for meals, dirty pool and an arrogant female manager who snubbed our group.
    We where part of a group visiting the island and this visit was very disappointing.

    What happened to the young manager I was told was sacked well seriously at least he had the place in good form and a repaul with guest to the owners very disappointed and our group will not stay at governors lodge again.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Q8235ZOstevenw
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 December 2019

    Had a lovely stay. Staff were friendly and helpful.7 night stay room serviced once towels changed on request.Island runs on tank water there is no main supply on the island.
    Breakfast was great. Thanks team had a great holiday will be back.

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Salbarry
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews