We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Larso1
Coffs Harbour, Australia

Norfolk Island Brewing, love it!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2024
We ate at Castaway Restaurant 3 times during our stay at Norfolk Island and loved the beers from their craft brewery, Norfolk Island Brewing. We tried all 3 of their brews (plus they do a cider), but our favourite was their XPA. It's a shame they only sell it from the tap over the bar, we would have loved to bring some home with us, it is delicious...The restaurant has indoor and outdoor dining, and the outdoor area has views across the valley to the airport, so you can also see flights coming and going. Definitely go there if you are a beer drinker!
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Go for lunch and dinner, the menus are great.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
King beds, hardwood floors
Booking.com
AU$270
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$270
  • Agoda.com
    AU$253
  • Hotels.com
    AU$338
0.1 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$193
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$192
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$173
0.4 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$237
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$237
  • Expedia.com
    AU$202
  • Hotels.com
    AU$237
0.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Trip.com
AU$141
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Pretty Ball Bay
Vio.com
AU$196
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Welcome to Paradise
Priceline
AU$6,467
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$6,178
  • Vio.com
    AU$6,052
  • StayForLong
    AU$6,361
0.5 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
AU$225
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$237
  • Agoda.com
    AU$215
  • Hotels.com
    AU$250
0.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Unit 12
Vio.com
AU$91
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$83
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
AU$151
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$151
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnt Pine
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
253
72
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
253
72
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza night norfolk island excellent hosts close to town great bar restaurant bar lovely outlook motel style stay there again great place to stay comfortable bed an easy walk spent a week self contained walking distance to shops hire car the main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2023

First impression was a few loose pieces of slate at the front entrance, we were part of a group of seniors so everyone was made aware. The staff were friendly and helpful the room was quiet, and we could sit outside and watch the kingfishers dive for their tasty morsels. There was a number of OH& S issues that l didn't feel were taken seriously. although "waiting for the boat to come with supplies" is a very common catch cry l thought more could have been done in the meantime to make the surrounds feel safer for us to get around

Room tip: The bathrooms have been updated but still have the old fans, the steam makes the tiles very slippery, make sure you request a non-slip mat,
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maw334
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

We had a wonderful quiet room with great facilities, fantastic staff. Great food and well presented. Any minor issues were fixed immediately sorted i.e. light bulb not working fixed straight away. Room cleaned better that at the International Motel we stayed at in Sydney prior and at the end of our holiday!

Room tip: If you don't stay at The Gate Way you are missing out on a lot of things like close to town centre, walking distance to RSL Club for meals.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FarAway10546410200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023

A really great place to stay very close to the shopping centre of the island. The service from staff was fantastic. The room was large and very comfortable with beautiful views over the island.
The room was clean, relatively new and very spacious.
There is a free washing machine (1) to use if needed and shared clothes lines. The internet is good for the island and reliable.
The bar at the hotel includes a local brewery with $5 pints on Wednesday afternoon for a few hours. Very popular spot. Will stay here again.

Room tip: Ask for rooms out the back.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ScottRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023 via mobile

Castaway is an excellent property for all travellers, my previous 2 stays were as a single and this was with three groups. Plenty of room to socialise together or in the bar with its open fire and many boutique beers to sample. Happy to go back.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2023 via mobile

An awesome experience.... the rooms are comfortable and the it is situated within walking distance of the main street.

With Norfolk Island brewing company as part of the facility, there is always a drink on hand.

Tony and Sarah, along with Erin and Jason and all their staff, will make your stay friendly and fun.
Thanks for having us guys and see you again next year, hopefully

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews