We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FarAway10546410200

Fantastic time

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Oct 2023
We had a wonderful quiet room with great facilities, fantastic staff. Great food and well presented. Any minor issues were fixed immediately sorted i.e. light bulb not working fixed straight away. Room cleaned better that at the International Motel we stayed at in Sydney prior and at the end of our holiday!
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: If you don't stay at The Gate Way you are missing out on a lot of things like close to town...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
King beds, hardwood floors
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$210
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$224
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Lounge Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
BBQ
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Hunky's Homestead 3 story 6 bedroom house. Sleeps 14 guests.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 bedroom apt king bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Relax and unwind by the pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Guest bedroom
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Living areas
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
4.2 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnt Pine
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
253
72
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
253
72
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza night norfolk island excellent hosts close to town great bar restaurant bar lovely outlook motel style stay there again great place to stay comfortable bed an easy walk spent a week self contained walking distance to shops hire car the main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2023

A really great place to stay very close to the shopping centre of the island. The service from staff was fantastic. The room was large and very comfortable with beautiful views over the island.
The room was clean, relatively new and very spacious.
There is a free washing machine (1) to use if needed and shared clothes lines. The internet is good for the island and reliable.
The bar at the hotel includes a local brewery with $5 pints on Wednesday afternoon for a few hours. Very popular spot. Will stay here again.

Room tip: Ask for rooms out the back.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ScottRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023 via mobile

Castaway is an excellent property for all travellers, my previous 2 stays were as a single and this was with three groups. Plenty of room to socialise together or in the bar with its open fire and many boutique beers to sample. Happy to go back.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2023 via mobile

An awesome experience.... the rooms are comfortable and the it is situated within walking distance of the main street.

With Norfolk Island brewing company as part of the facility, there is always a drink on hand.

Tony and Sarah, along with Erin and Jason and all their staff, will make your stay friendly and fun.
Thanks for having us guys and see you again next year, hopefully

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2023

Great place to stay in the main town area of Burnt Pine. Great restaurant and spacious unit. Beautiful views from restaurant. Has its own mini brewery. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.This is an ideal location as it is so close to town- only a few minutes walk.

Date of stay: August 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ianfX3997QT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2023

Sarah & Tony were excellent hosts providing intel on where to eat and what to do, very warm and friendly. The rooms are oversized and very comfortable. The town is with in walking distance, I enjoyed my visit and would stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lanadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews