We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Frank H

So Good!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 June 2023
Norfolk Island is a special and different place. The Castaway Hotel just fit so well with the feel and friendliness of the island. Our accommodation was spacious and the staff plus the well organised welcome and package was a nice touch. My wife and I spent a week playing golf and enjoying everything that NI had to offer. At the end of everyday we were able to return to the hotel for food, drinks, friendly staff and to cosy comfort, surroundings and scenery.
Most days we walked to Burnt Pine to shop, drink or dine.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and the Norfolk experience.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Try the cheese platter along with all the boutique beers on offer. After the early start and...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
King beds, hardwood floors
AU$203
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$225
0.1 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$230
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$214
  • Expedia.com
    AU$237
0.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
AU$206
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$185
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$206
0.4 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Relax and unwind by the pool
AU$227
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$227
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Lounge Area
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
BBQ
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Hunky's Homestead 3 story 6 bedroom house. Sleeps 14 guests.
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.7 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 bedroom apt king bed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Guest bedroom
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Living areas
  • Lol.travel
4.2 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnt Pine
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
253
73
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
253
73
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza night norfolk island excellent hosts close to town great bar restaurant bar lovely outlook motel style stay there again great place to stay comfortable bed an easy walk spent a week self contained walking distance to shops hire car the main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2023 via mobile

Castaway is in a great spot with most of the rooms having views and it is within an easy walk of cafes and shops in Burnt Pine. The restaurant/ bar, particularly the spacious deck, is great for watching the sunset over the hills while having a drink. The Friday pizza night and Sunday roast lunch are worth booking for. My room was one of the spacious self contained apartments and was very clean, comfortable and convenient. The outdoor furniture had an outlook towards Phillip Island. The staff were really friendly and accommodating.

Room tip: My room was number 11 and it was a self contained apartment, very private with great views from the outdoor furniture.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2023

Enjoyed my short stay at Castaway - very spacious and comfortable room with all the required amenities including guest wifi access. Walking distance to centre of town and shops. Friendly and welcoming team who are always happy to help and answer any questions with a smile. Outdoor deck is perfect place to watch the spectacular Norfolk Island sunset 😊

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Vida T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2023

Castaway is situated in a perfect location to walk up the main street to great cafes, the information centre and our tour company site. Our room was clean, quiet and spacious. We had the choice of breakfast at Castaway which was great, or to eat out. The bar is a great social point and the staff always friendly and helpful. We would definitely chose to stay at Castaway again. Charlie and Dianna

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2023

Accommodation was "tops" sooo clean and comfortable. Management and staff friendly and professional. The perfect place to relax and Bar had the best Margaritas and Bouquet Beer. Will be returning to Norfolk again.

Room tip: Book any activities early. Day of arrival after checking into accommodation.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2023

Our 2nd stay at Castaway. Very friendly & helpful owners/managers/staff. Onsite restaurant & brewery is a bonus + a great deck for a cool breeze and a refreshing drink. Fully self-contained units with large rooms & bathroom. Easy walk to town, supermarket, shops, clubs, cafes & restaurants. Castaway is the ideal place to stay on Norfolk Island!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emeraldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews