We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jane W
Sydney, Australia
I'll be coming back!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2021
Castaway is one of those truly authentic places to stay that screams comfort and history but with a young vibe. We has a one bedroom apartment that had recently been renovate and was extremely comfortable. The food was fabulous, especially the pizza night, and it's pretty amazing to have a brewery on-site making high quality boutique beers and cider. A great mix of people, from young 20s to retirees. Most impressive, however, are the staff who go out of their way to accommodate your requests. Tony and Sarah are the soul of Castaway and I look forward to catching up with them again on my next trip.
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
King beds, hardwood floors
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
Lounge Area
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Pool
BBQ
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Hunky's Homestead 3 story 6 bedroom house. Sleeps 14 guests.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 bedroom apt king bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free Wifi
Relax and unwind by the pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Guest bedroom
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
Living areas
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
4.2 km from Castaway Norfolk Island
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnt Pine
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
253
72
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
253
72
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza night norfolk island excellent hosts close to town great bar restaurant bar lovely outlook motel style stay there again great place to stay comfortable bed an easy walk spent a week self contained walking distance to shops hire car the main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2021

Everything about Castaway is fantastic. Rooms are comfortable and well maintained, we stayed in the self contained room and it was spacious and everything we needed for a week on the island. Meals in the restaurant were delicious and the beer from their brewery went down a treat. Hosts Sarah & Tony along with their team were a delight from the moment we walked in being greeted with a cold drink on a warm day after a long days travel. Relaxed and happy place that we will definitely go back to again when visiting the island.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank diandmatth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Watts, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Dear Di & Matt,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay here while visiting Norfolk! We're so happy you enjoyed the restaurant and brewery. Looking forward to seeing you both in the future.

Regards Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021

Words cannot describe what an amazing place Castaway is. We have stayed here twice now and wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Fantastic food at the restaurant and the addition of the Brewery is a stroke of genius.
Sarah & Tony are the ultimate hosts and beautiful people. Nothing seems to be a problem for them and always greet you with a smile and a chat.
See you soon !!!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Z5412DJstuartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Watts, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Dear Stuart,

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear we've had a lasting impression on you during your visits to the island. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Regards Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Not sure where to start, this place is fabulous 10 out of 10. Tony and Sarah have done a great job with this place, our room was great, we had one of the front rooms, so clean and so well done, hat's off to you guys, a couple of steps down the verandah and we were at the Restaurant and Bar, which has it own Brewery and the beer and cider was on point and the fabulous wood-fired pizzas were yummy, it was a great way to finish off the year. They also do beautiful platters for you to enjoy, which we took ours on a sunset picnic to Puppys Point. Highly recommend this place. Loved everything about this place.

Date of stay: December 2020
2  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Watts, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Dear Nicole,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so glad to hear you loved your stay with us and you enjoyed our bar and restaurant. Thank you for staying with us, we wish you all the best in the future.

Regards Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021

Stayed for a week in early December. Room was clean and modern, and had a beautiful view with glimpses of the water. Close to everything. The brewery was a great addition, great priced beers and ciders made on site. The owners and chef went above and beyond to cater vegan meals for me, including pizza, burgers, curry and pasta, which were all amazing and fresh! Highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Norfolk.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rachaelWWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Watts, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2021

Dear Rachael,

Thank you for your great review of us! We're so glad you were happy with the food and the brewery, and that you had a great time staying with us. We wish you all the best and hope to see you back in the future.

Regards Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

Stayed at Castaway while visiting our son on the Island for Christmas. Host Tony and Sarah were wonderful and staff were exceptional. Christmas Day we ordered a picnic lunch which was just amazing and pizza night was one of the best pizza's we have eaten. The room was modern and resently upgraded, it had everthing we needed.
Norfolk can be as busy as you would like or restful with a good book and days spent at the very beautiful Emily Bay. We will most certainly be back soon.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank H3236XKcathys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Watts, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2021

Dear Cathy,

It was lovely meeting you and your husband, and we're so happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us while visiting your son! Thank you so much for your lovely review and your compliments on the food and amenities. We look forward to seeing you both when you come back!

Regards Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews