We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Monica H

KUSHU COTTAGE TINTOELA

Review of Tintoela
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2023
The Ultimate accommodation on the island.
The cottage was superbly presented on side of hill with a magical view through valley to ocean below from living areas & bedroom, with large verandah to enjoy late afternoon drinks. Really luxurious.
Highlight was meet Laurie the owner who graciously shared a tour through the beautiful main Homestead.
Date of stay: February 2023
Room Tip: If you want the best on island, book Kushu Cottage
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this review
Responded 24 Mar 2023
Hi Monica and Don!

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our little Kushu Cottage. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and it was such a pleasure meeting you both.

I hope to see you back one day soon!

Kindest regards,
Emma & Laurie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$237
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$237
  • Expedia.com
    AU$202
  • Hotels.com
    AU$214
1.6 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
AU$193
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$191
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$173
1.5 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
King beds, hardwood floors
Booking.com
AU$270
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$270
  • Hotels.com
    AU$243
  • Expedia.com
    AU$338
1.8 km from Tintoela
Free Wifi
Free parking
Trip.com
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 km from Tintoela
Pretty Ball Bay
Vio.com
AU$196
  • Agoda.com
    AU$177
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Welcome to Paradise
Priceline
AU$6,444
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$6,171
  • Vio.com
    AU$6,045
  • StayForLong
    AU$6,328
1.7 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
AU$225
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$237
  • Agoda.com
    AU$215
  • Hotels.com
    AU$250
1.9 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
Unit 12
Vio.com
AU$91
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$83
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
AU$151
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$144
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Tintoela
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnt Pine
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
144
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews norfolk island norfolk pine breakfast hamper bedroom cottage beautiful flowers helpful tips amazing home including wifi main centre huge kitchen booking restaurants rolling hills mobile phone hire car beach towels extra touches orientation tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2023

We recently stayed at Tintoela in the 2 bedroom Hilli cottage and it was a brilliant choice. After being met at the airport by Emma we were handed keys to a car that we had for our entire stay on the island. We followed her home to our own private accommodation only to find a lovely basket of fruit, beautiful flowers, free wifi, a mobile phone for use on the island and comfortable king size beds in each room with their own ensuite. The cottage was spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay including a washing machine with detergent & clothes dryer)
We also enjoyed using the BBQ while having a wine or 3 on the verandah which overlooked Norfolk Pine wooded hills and the ocean.
Emma, who is so lovely and helpful, also organised a well informed orientation tour of the island for us (with Baunti tours ) the next morning which was full of valuable information.
So much Island history and so many things to see and do - a photographers delight. Highly recommend dinner at the Homestead, a trip around the island and Phillip Island by boat, the Fish Fry, and the Trial of the 15. Plenty of great walks including 100 acre forest walk, golf , exploring the penal colony and visiting the many eating establishments.
Highly recommend to stay here

Room tip: They supply beach towels, shampoo and conditioner so no need to take. The place also had some board games, books and a flat screen TV.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2023

Thanks so much for sharing your experience Debbie!

It was such a pleasure having the four of you stay with us (finally!). I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time both on the Island and at Tintoela so much and I hope to see you back again one day in the not so distant future.

Kindest regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2023

We, 7 adults and a 2 year old, have just returned from a week on beautiful Norfolk Island staying at the spectacular Tintoela Homestead.This amazing home met all of our expectations and more. From the moment the bubbly and friendly Emma met us at the airport and escorted us back to the house we knew we had made the best decision ever.From the moment we walked through the front door we felt at home and were in holiday mode instantly.The home was so spacious and so comfortable and spotlessly clean.The verandahs were amazing with a wonderful barbecue area and the most scenic and spectacular views over the lush rolling hills down to the ocean. Needlesss to say we spent many hours relaxing on these verandahs with the only noise being the beautiful bird life and the occasional mooing of the gorgeous cows.The gardens and lawns were immaculate. The huge kitchen, lounge, dining room, bedrooms, bathrooms, study and laundry contained everything we could have possibly needed.From a coffee machine, board games, a wonderful selections of books, toys, beach towels and beach equipment and even a piano which my musical husband and granddaughter loved.Tintoela is in a great location and we loved seeing the happy and content Norfolk Island cows whenever we left the house.We can highly recommend this beautiful home and will definitely be returning to Tintoela.

Date of stay: February 2023
Thank susandY7399KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2023

Hi Susan and family!

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Homestead and your time on the Island. I loved having your beautiful family stay with us and I'm pleased you enjoyed yourselves and your stay so much.

I look forward to seeing you back at Tintoela again one day soon!

Kindest regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2023 via mobile

We booked Tintoela as it was highly rated and it definitely lived up to its reputation. The self-contained cottages are beautifully appointed with a stunning view of the ocean and Norfolk pines. We stayed at both Kushu (1 bedroom) and Hilli (2 bedroom). Both were extremely comfortable but Kushu had a bath. Tintoela is exceptionally peaceful and we never tired of the view. It’s not far from the main centre and historical Kingston town is easy to get to. The extra touches were appreciated - flowers, hire car, and mobile phone with credit (as you can’t use your own phone as Norfolk is on a different network). Emma, the manager met us at the airport and we followed her back to Tintoela in the hire car that came with the accommodation. There are lots of helpful tips in an info pack. I would advise you booking restaurants like Homestead or Hilli before you come as they get booked out early. We added a breakfast hamper which lasted for 3 days (and we even used it for a couple of lunches). Emma arranged an orientation tour with Baunti Tours which was great. We then booked a few more tours with them. Thanks Emma. We loved our time at Tintoela.

Room tip: Book restaurants before you come. But Tintoela has cooking facilities and a BBQ. Bring your own body wash if you prefer it to soap.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bu_Gede
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2023

Hi Melissa and Steven!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Tintoela and on the Island.

It was such a pleasure having you and I hope to welcome you back again one day.

Kind regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2023 via mobile

Tintoela was a wonderful place to stay on the delightful Norfolk Island. We stayed in the one bedroom cottage and had a brilliant time. The cottage is located overlooking the Pacific Ocean with a northerly aspect. It is superbly appointed and a comfortable ambiance. We were able to completely relax and fell in love with both Tintoela and Norfolk Island.

Room tip: Make every effort to explore as much of this island as possible.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PWJCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2023

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure having you and I look forward to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2022 via mobile

With a view down the valley, past the waterfall and out to sea, the siting of Tintoela is exceptional. A feeling of calm space is found here with wonderfully comfortable bedding and good amenities. Our group ate at home often and found all we needed to prepare our food.
Highly recommend this as the best place to stay on Norfolk Island

Room tip: Stay at least 10 days to cover the many things to do on Norfolk
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank richardpR3332HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2022

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time at Tintoela so much.
We loved having you and would love to see you back one day in the future!

Kind regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews