We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Richard P
Inverloch, Australia

Tranquil quality place to stay

Review of Tintoela
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Nov 2022via mobile
With a view down the valley, past the waterfall and out to sea, the siting of Tintoela is exceptional. A feeling of calm space is found here with wonderfully comfortable bedding and good amenities. Our group ate at home often and found all we needed to prepare our food.
Highly recommend this as the best place to stay on Norfolk Island
Date of stay: November 2022
Room Tip: Stay at least 10 days to cover the many things to do on Norfolk
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this review
Responded 19 Nov 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time at Tintoela so much.
We loved having you and would love to see you back one day in the future!

Kind regards,
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$237
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$206
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
1.5 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
King beds, hardwood floors
AU$225
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Tintoela
Free Wifi
Free parking
BBQ
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.9 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Lounge Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Relax and unwind by the pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Tintoela
Free parking
1 bedroom apt king bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
2.1 km from Tintoela
Free Wifi
Guest bedroom
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.0 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Living areas
  • Lol.travel
4.0 km from Tintoela
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnt Pine
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
144
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews norfolk island norfolk pine breakfast hamper bedroom cottage beautiful flowers helpful tips amazing home including wifi main centre huge kitchen booking restaurants rolling hills mobile phone hire car beach towels extra touches orientation tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2022

The Tintoela Hilli cottage (perfect for 2 couples) was superb. Wonderful views. Modern and functional. All needed amenities including wi-fi. Food for breakfasts and snacks. The manager, Emma Christian, was charming and very helpful.

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank N1875NGdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2022

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

It was so lovely meeting you and I'm glad your stay at Tintoela, and time on the Island was so enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcoming you back one day.
Kind regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2022

This was our second stay at Tintola and it was as good as the first. We were well looked after by Emma the manager. It has beautiful views and was just what we needed. We had a problem with the car which was dealt with quickly and didn't cause any problems. The cottage is well appointed and has what you need to cook if you want to as while the ship had been delayed and supplies in some cases were low you could still get what you needed. Restaurant's were very good but we made use of the barbecue provided. Would definitely go back again and can recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Christian, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We loved welcoming you back to Tintoela and look forward to seeing you again one day.
Kindest regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2021

We had a fantastic five day stay in the stunning Hilli cottage at Tintoela. The cottage itself is amazing: views to die for from most rooms; polished Norfolk pine floors and cathedral ceilings; luxurious appointments; it provided every convenience we could ask for and more!

The Tintoela property is like a large Botanic Garden, with lawns sloping down to the Cascade valley and from there to lovely views of the Pacific Ocean. It balances privacy with reasonable closeness to the facilities of the town.

Manager Shaun was extremely helpful and generous with his time; meeting us at the airport and providing our rental car, and then being available throughout our stay when his advice was needed.

Norfolk Island itself was amazing: so much history, culture and natural beauty. We will certainly recommend both Tintoela and the island to our friends as well worth a visit, and we would love to return.

Bob and Linda Knight

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jesse Schiller, Marketing at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2021

Dear Bob and Linda,

Thank for your kind words a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hilli Cottage. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Shaun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020

Every amenity we wanted (without going overboard) was provided, the setting interesting and peaceful, the location close to both the National Park (looking at it) and the Island commercial centre (out of sight and sound). The property gardens are an attraction in them selves; looking out to sea from the veranda helped plan the days activities. We stayed in Kushu cottage; the house is well built, attractive and fitted out for comfort and convenience.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank gregorymJ8806SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2020

We could not speak highly enough of our 8 day stay at Tintoela’s Kushu cottage. From the welcoming pre trip and arrival communication with Shaun to the beautifully appointed cottage and the stunning view from it, we knew at once we were in for a magical first “overseas” trip since Covid began. The facilities, cleanliness and surroundings were first rate. A car was included as well as all off the beach gear we needed including beach chairs and umbrellas. After busy mornings seeing the stunning island and swimming, we usually collapsed on the verandah for a late lunch and “refreshment” at about 3 each day and couldn’t extricate ourselves from there until dinner at one of the many restaurants on the island. Watching the wild chickens, kingfishers and rosellas play on the incredibly lush grass and trees with the blue sea beyond was magic! The wandering cattle was also a highlight. The history of Norfolk Island is fascinating too, with its stunning World Heritage penal and settler precinct, and we have returned home with great enthusiasm to learn more about the island’s early settlement.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank deborahbG8887YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jill Menghetti, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of Tintoela. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time staying with us.

We would love to see you again at Tintoela.

Kind regards,
Shaun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews