We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gregory M

exploring an amazing island from a wonderful home

Review of Tintoela
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Dec 2020
Every amenity we wanted (without going overboard) was provided, the setting interesting and peaceful, the location close to both the National Park (looking at it) and the Island commercial centre (out of sight and sound). The property gardens are an attraction in them selves; looking out to sea from the veranda helped plan the days activities. We stayed in Kushu cottage; the house is well built, attractive and fitted out for comfort and convenience.
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.7 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$206
  • StayForLong
1.5 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Pool
King beds, hardwood floors
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$202
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Tintoela
Free Wifi
Free parking
BBQ
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.9 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Lounge Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Relax and unwind by the pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Tintoela
Free parking
1 bedroom apt king bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Tintoela
Free Wifi
Guest bedroom
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.0 km from Tintoela
Free parking
Living areas
  • Lol.travel
4.0 km from Tintoela
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnt Pine
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
144
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews norfolk island norfolk pine breakfast hamper bedroom cottage beautiful flowers helpful tips amazing home including wifi main centre huge kitchen booking restaurants rolling hills mobile phone hire car beach towels extra touches orientation tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2020

We could not speak highly enough of our 8 day stay at Tintoela’s Kushu cottage. From the welcoming pre trip and arrival communication with Shaun to the beautifully appointed cottage and the stunning view from it, we knew at once we were in for a magical first “overseas” trip since Covid began. The facilities, cleanliness and surroundings were first rate. A car was included as well as all off the beach gear we needed including beach chairs and umbrellas. After busy mornings seeing the stunning island and swimming, we usually collapsed on the verandah for a late lunch and “refreshment” at about 3 each day and couldn’t extricate ourselves from there until dinner at one of the many restaurants on the island. Watching the wild chickens, kingfishers and rosellas play on the incredibly lush grass and trees with the blue sea beyond was magic! The wandering cattle was also a highlight. The history of Norfolk Island is fascinating too, with its stunning World Heritage penal and settler precinct, and we have returned home with great enthusiasm to learn more about the island’s early settlement.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank deborahbG8887YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jill Menghetti, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of Tintoela. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time staying with us.

We would love to see you again at Tintoela.

Kind regards,
Shaun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020

My husband surprised me with a trip to Norfolk Island for my 50th birthday staying at Tintoela, he really outdid himself. Tintoela is an amazingly beautiful place to stay, somewhere I would highly recommend and will be back! The property is picturesque with the views from Kushu cottage just breathtaking when you walk through the front door. The gardens are amazing and everything is so close by. The people of Norfolk Island are so friendly and helpful. We just loved our stay and can't wait to go back again.

Room tip: For a couple Kushu was amazing.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jacqwills70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jill Menghetti, General Manager at Tintoela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you found Tintoela an amazingly beautiful place to stay. We are so glad that you loved your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Shaun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2020 via mobile

In October we spent a fabulous week on Norfolk Island, a very much favoured destination for us.

This time we stayed at 'Tintoela Cottages' in the Kushu Cottage near Cascade Bay.

It was a marvellous experience staying in a private secluded villa in a glorious 4 acre garden with wide open views down to the blue ocean.

All modern facilities for cooking, washing, relaxing and just feeling at home made the stay so special.

Shaun Robinson warmly greeted us at the airport with our included self drive car and guided us to our cottage.

We intend to return next year and highly recommend Tintoela to visitors to charming Norfolk Island.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Garthri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

I have always wanted to visit Norfolk so I jumped on the web and booked,
The flights from Sydney with Air N.Z direct no problem, comfortable and somewhat on time, But take a snack no inflight service on this one, I booked Tintoela one-bedroom house great, Shaun the host was at the airport to meet us with a car because there is no public transport, we followed him from the airport he showed us the house booked our restaurant for dinner and a couple of tours, GREAT experience,

Room tip: As there is no A/C on the Island if there in warmer months make sure you have a breeze through your room
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 246graemek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2020

As our first visit to Norfolk Island, to stay at Tintoela was great and we certainly will be back. A friendly and helpful manager (Shaun) spent time with us explaining points of interest and was a mine of information about the island.

Room tip: Great apartment, with beautiful Norfolk Island Pine floors and ceilings. A great setting with views to “die for”
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travellers030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews