We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Difficult review to write...some good and some...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ardno, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
teitei13
Clifton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Difficult review to write...some good and some disappointing.”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The view from the bungalow, situated in the most magical of estates, is picture perfect. Ardno Estate is managed beautifully and in a most natural way. The bungalow was spotless. It is a long, long way to anywhere so if site-seeing be prepared for long drives. Want a newspaper or milk then it's a 14 mile round trip. I had two reservations - firstly there was not a book in the place. I've stayed in many, many rentals in beautiful locations and they all came with maps, guide books, and books on the local flora and fauna, not here. And secondly, even though we had paid top whack for the place the owner charged us £10 after when we informed them of a breakage. Never in my experience have I been charged or heard of others being charged for a breakage. I'd be very concerned about upsetting a glass of red wine on the carpet, I'm sure the owner would charge for a carpet clean. I felt it penny pinching and bad form. However Leonard, the Manager of the property, was quick to respond to emails and was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Being charged for breaking the glass of the cafetiere...very poor etiquette.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We have emailed each other since. There is a lot that is good about your review but of course being charged £10 for a breakage, which you kindly reported on departure, has soured your view. You were a great family to deal with and I would hope to see you back in this beautiful part of Scotland again. Leonard at Lochgoilhead Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJD27
1 review
“Fantastic modernised cottage in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Cottage had been modernised to a high standard, 3 well sized bedrooms and the advantage of an extra toilet in the utility room. All the amenities you could need, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils, including separate fridge and freezer. Cottage was very clean on arrival. Fantastic walks around the cottage, lakeside and Forrest area. You can buy everything you need from Inveraray which is 14 miles away. Could not fault the cottage, a very enjoyable week and would not hesitate to book again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing