We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel not prepared for Spring Break guests!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #71 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel not prepared for Spring Break guests!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We arrived at check-in (4pm) on 3/17/12 only to be told our room wouldn't be available for at least an hour. They were booked full and housekeeping couldn't keep up. We attempted to check-in again at 5:30pm and were erroneously assigned an already occupied room. We were assigned a second room which was still in the process of being cleaned by housekeeping. This whole process took well over an hour with extremely long lines at the front desk as well as for the elevators. Parking was horrible, having to circle multiple times to find a spot even quite a distance from the hotel, and there were no luggage carts available for several hours. The waterpark was overfull (I'm guessing probably over capacity or near to it) and when we arrived we weren't allowed to enter due to a lost child incident - no doubt due to the overcrowding. There were no tubes available to float in the lazy river, no towels available at all, no space available in the hot tub, no tables available to set personal items...not an enjoyable family experience. Our room was hastily cleaned although I give housekeeping some credit for trying (floors not swept well, bed covers stained, in-room fridge not working, desk top sticky) Our 2-dbl bed room was on the small side, particularly the bathroom. Our room was at the end of the hall and we could hear the loud dinging bell of the elevator everytime it stopped on our floor. There are no nearby restaurants for a quick bite to eat so you have little choice than to eat at their overpriced restaurants (and the waits were extremely long on our visit)...or risk losing your parking space. Overall, this is not a hotel I would recommend during any sort of vacation period. It was not a relaxing, enjoyable experience for us and we most certainly won't be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator unless you enjoy hearing the constant ding of the cars arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puglover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua F, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback. I would agree with you that we were not prepared for the weekend that you stayed with us. We had some unfortunate events that took place, and for that, I want to personally apologize for your experience. Thankfully, we have recognized the challenges, and our management staff has done an excellent job in addressing the challenges so that they do not occur again in the future. I again want to thank you for your feedback and do hope that you choose to come back and visit us.

Very Respectfully,

Joshua Finch
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    175
    179
    141
    171
See reviews for
465
101
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We bought a package deal and it was such a wonderful time. We stayed in a "standard room" which was so clean, spacious, and comfortable (including the beds)! It was way better than other "standard rooms" of other hotels. The hotel staff, restaurant staff, and water park (Coco Key) staff were all wonderful (polite and helpful). I would advise anyone to stay here and have a fun adventure. Just lovely!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 11th floor. We loved the view! At night the lights were so pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua F, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is wonderful to hear you had a fabulous stay! That is always our goal! I'm so glad you guys got an opportunity to experience high quality service with our hotel staff, our restaurant staff, and our water park staff. We believe strongly in the philosophy of "Great Hotels Guests Love!" I do believe that our guests make this possible by providing us with the encouragement needed to maintain a great business. We look forward to having you back next time! We thank you greatly for your business!

Very Respectfully,

Joshua Finch
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn CoCo Key Water Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I was in town for business and had my kids with me. This was a great place to stay. It was close to the highways and shopping. The staff here was very friendly, whether it was a front desk person or restaurant personnel. They were having their elevators worked on this weekend, so they opened up their service levators to assist in the long lines. They showed us how to get there and did everything to accommodate all of the guests. The rooms were very clean and beds are extremely comfortable. They had central air, which was nice to nor have a window unit clicking on and off all night. I Lvoed the large desk for setting things on and the tvs had great HD. It was very conveneint to eat there too. Waits were not bad, and the kids ate free with an adult. Not the best food I have ever eaten, but buffet style and the convenience of not having to leave and go eat somewhere else was nice. Considering there was tons of kids running around the hotel, the noise was not bad either. I was very impressed and will return again on my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua F, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay. The one thing I love about Holiday Inn is that we can take care of the business traveler as well as take care of the family. It is always so important that we cater to every guest's needs. Our focus at Holiday Inn is to provide "Great Hotels Guests Love!" I believe we can accomplish that by providing great service guests love. We hope you choose our hotel in the future and would love to welcome you back. Thank you , as well, for the feedback on the food. We are always looking for ways to improve and we will pass on this information to our director of food and beverage. Again, thank you so much for your business!

Very Respectfully,

Joshua Finch
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn CoCo Key Water Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here with on 3/8/12 and had a very good stay. We are a family of 5 and the hotel had us booked in a King room but when checking in I asked the clerk if we could change to a two queen room instead and they gladly did that. I also asked for a crib for our 8 mo. old son and before we could get our bags unloaded and inside, the crib was already in the room. They assigned us a room on the 4th floor at the end of the hall and our night was restful with almost no noise. Room was fairly clean and overall experience was great!!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickengeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua F, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is so exciting to hear that you had a great stay with us! It is truly my goal to make sure that our guests have a memorable stay. I do believe it is all about the value of your experience when you come stay with us! The great news is that we are continuing to upgrade our rooms and our guest areas to make sure your future with us gets even brighter! We hope you come back and visit us! Thank you for your business!

Very Respectfully,

Joshua Finch
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn CoCo Key Water Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night to visit the Chiefs stadium and look around. The stadium was right across the street and is conveniently located to get to if your into these teams. I was a little apprehensive to stay here based on the security of the parking lot. The area was decent. The lobby was really nicely decorated and the rooms were nice and perfect for sleeping and showering. The shower took awhile to actually get warm. The air conditioning was really noise and clunky. It actually woke us up in the middle of the night and we had to turn it off. The elevators at the time of the visit were being worked on. Going up to our room the first time did take over 10 minutes waiting on them but when we can back they were working just fine.

Room Tip: I would call to make sure the elevators are working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua F, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for proviinding us with feedback of your stay. It's unfortunate that you encountered a challenge with the noise from your HVAC system. I do apologize for this. We are working hard to make sure that these challenges improve. The location of this hotel is incredible, especially for th upcoming All Star game in July. We are truly excited for the event. Our elevators will all be brand new by then as we have already completed 2 of them. Our ownership is investing a lot of money to make really strong improvements. We hope you come visit us again next year and see all the great improvements we are making.

Thank you for your time.

Very Respectfully,

Joshua Finch
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn CoCo Key Water Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
0.3 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
0.8 km away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
9.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 9103 East 39th Street, Kansas City, MO 64133 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kansas City SE - Waterpark)
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price range (per night): $108 - $288
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adam's Mark of Kansas City is a full-service hotel and conference center located on the Southeastern side of Kansas City, MO. Our location is adjacent to the Truman Sports Complex, home of the Kansas City Chiefs and Royals. The Adam's Mark of Kansas City offers over 369 well appointed rooms and 17,000 sq. ft. of event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kansas City Se - Waterpark Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing