We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint place off the beaten for an out-of-towner in KC for business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bird Bistro

Blue Bird Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Bird Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #535 of 1,400 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: American, French, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 17th Street
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint place off the beaten for an out-of-towner in KC for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I found this BBBistro a refreshing change from the stuffy chain restaurants in the plaza. The mushroom tartlet was excellent. The crust was buttery and flakey and the mushrooms and cheese only added to the overall greatness. The wine and BBBistro salad were also nice. The environment is a littler worn, but quaint. I thought the bill was a little high for a place like this...$34.00 for tartlet, salad, and glass of wine.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asw_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    38
    19
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Excellent little place. Very unique menu options. Local fare. Unique experience, really enjoyed ourselves. Our waiter was phenomenal, very knowledgeable and able to make great recommendations.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphin722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“local produce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

use to be all vegetarian, now all food is purchased within 100mi. fresh and not your usual menu. wine dinner presentations.

Helpful?
Thank massage2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

VERY VERY disappointed!!! Four of us had lunch and all of us left very disappointed, food was awful. It not worth the price, wouldn't pay even few dollars for it. Ordered from lunch menu and all of us for sure not coming back.Food was not tasty and burned, not sure were these good reviews are coming from, but our experience was really bad!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great choice off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

A friend had recommended BBBirstro, so we made a 5:00 reservation following a 2:00 show. We arrived at 4:30 and they offered us the lunch menu, which was fabulous. I have a soy allergy and another of us has a gluten allergy. Our waitress was great and spoke to the chef who was very accommodating. Lots of local organic foods are served.
All 4 of us raved about our meals, and I even ordered an extra to take home for the following day.
We will go back and we will tell others about this place!.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GLewis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Bird Bistro also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Blue Bird Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing