We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My yardstick on how I measure other hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
Ranked #81 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My yardstick on how I measure other hotels”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have to say, that reading some of the other reviews, I gotta wonder if they are talking about the same hotel that I have stayed in several times. I have seen -none- of the bad things they speak of.

I do trade shows for a living, and this hotel happens to be right next to one of the venues that I do shows at all the time. I can get up and walk to work as it were. The price point is always fair, and the rooms? Well, I could live out of them without much difficulty.

The wifi has always worked well for me, the ice machine always dispenses ice, and the rooms have always been excellent, far better than I expect for the price paid. The new beds are excellent, and it's amazing to see such as nice TV set installed in a hotel room at this price.

Quite seriously, if I could have this level of hotel at this price within walking distance of all of my shows... I would be a seriously happy camper. Absolutely no complaints from me about anything at this property.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kansasccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    139
    180
    126
    169
See reviews for
244
153
81
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This place is obviously renovated, but it was clean and complete. The rooms were small but had very comfy beds and an interesting window seat. Breakfast was minimal but available at 4am, which was really excellent. Things were very quiet! No noise from other guests or anything else for that matter. Nice tv's too.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed here 1 night in November 2011. Had an early flight from KCI, and this is very conveniently located.

Luckily, I didn't have to spend much time in the place. It's kind of dreary. The front desk clerk was eating pizza from the box and watching TV (some really violent show) at the front desk when I arrived at around 7pm. She seemed annoyed that I had interrupted. The front lobby was oddly-furnished with barely-sufficient fluorescent lights and huge faux French Renaissance furniture.

Got checked in quickly. The hallways are dimly-lit and poorly-maintained with stained and frayed carpets. Key didn't work the first time I tried so had to get another one.

Inside my room, there was a bare compact fluorescent light bulb in the ceiling and another one by the window. At total of maybe 25 watts of light in the room. No bed side lamps.

Bathroom was basically clean, but really poorly-maintained with peeling wall paper, a mirror that was shedding its sliver coating, and lots of holes in the wall where the shower curtained had been installed, and then re-installed.

The business center consists of a PC and printer located in the lobby. OK for printing a boarding pass, if you don't mind waiting in line, but otherwise it is lousy.

All in all, I would give this hotel 2 stars, and one of those is because it is so close to KCI. Otherwise, it's a 1 star in my book.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Good location and price. Good breakfast and rooms okay. If you want cheap, good location near airport and fairly comfortable rooms this will work great. Nice TV.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorettajeanNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORRIS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We booked this room as a place to stay on raceweekend knowing we would not be spending a lot of time there.We checked in a day early & spent three days there,the girl that checked us in & out was pleasent. Our room was what we expected as we have stayed in this hotel once a couple of years ago I would say our room was cleaner on this vist than last but could have been cleaner still.If we planned on hanging around a hotel room then this may not be the place to stay but for what we needed it was fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
4.5 km away
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
#65 of 108 in Kansas City
265 reviews
1.7 km away
Days Inn Kansas City International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Plaza Circle
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
0.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
Address: 11831 NW Plaza Cir, near Kansas City International Airport, Kansas City, MO 64153-1115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price range (per night): $61 - $108
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is recently renovated. We are only 2 miles away from MCI airport. We have 24 hours shuttle service to airport. Free breakfast, free phone calls, free Wi-Fi in rooms and business center in lobby. Our bedding meet any five star hotels bedding standards. We offer complimentary water bottle and cookies. Restaurants and shopping centers are within a 5 miles radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Microtel Inn And Suites Kansas City
Microtel Hotel Kansas City
Microtel Kansas City
Kansas City Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing