We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,784 results
Traveller rating
995
406
181
120
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
995
406
181
120
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concierge floor craig walter reuben front desk christmas lights club level lobby bar the entire staff self parking oak plaza alameda valet ihg balconies conference bellman
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 1,784 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The property recently underwent a remodel and, while it has been modernized, it is still elegant and charming. The concierge, Craig Walters, is a marvel! His deep knowledge of Kansas City history makes him an excellent conversationalist. The concierge lounge is comfortable and inviting; a great spot to sit and watch the crowds walk by. The new beds are very firm and have thick duvets....very cozy! All in all, a great stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nlb714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear nlb714,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We’re glad it was a great stay for you!

It’s great to see you like the complete fashion makeover of the hotel finished in May of this year. The look and feel of the hotel has been elevated to reflect a more understated and sophisticated elegance, while retaining a welcoming and inviting feeling through the use of a significantly lighter palette and materials that look and feel luxurious.

One of the things that didn’t change was the service provided by our award winning team. Craig certainly takes a lead role in this area and we will share your feedback with him later today.

Please stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We were at the Intercontinental for the Kansas City Ballet’s annual black-tie gala event. We couldn’t have been more pleased with PBaddoo’s service to our table. She was very prompt and courteous. Everything was brought out on time and professionally. When we need more coffee creamer, coffee or water, she was right there to help. She also was more than willing to snap a quick cell phone photo of us dressed in our fancy clothes so we can remember a fun night out. Excellent service!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear A R,

Thank you for supporting the Kansas City Ballet by attending the annual Ballet Ball fundraising event. This is always a first class event and it is our pleasure to host it at the hotel.

We’ll be sure to share your comments with Angela about how much your enjoyed her service throughout the evening. It was kind of you to recognize her efforts.

If you are looking for a quick and easy break from the normal routine, the InterContinental Kansas City is the perfect place for a staycation, especially with the holidays right around the corner. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed here happily multiple times when and since it was the Fairmont. Sadly no longer up to par. Here now for a wedding weekend. Last night the bar only had one kind of wine by the glass. So your choice was either red or white. They said they had to cut down. Really, in a place like this? This morning we ordered granola parfaits for breakfast in the cafe. After waiting over 30 minutes, we were told they were out of yogurt and they went to get some. We could have ordered something else instead, if we’d known. After breakfast, we went to sit in the lounge to chat. The music was deafening. We asked them to turn it down. First they did, then it went back up to the same volume and they told us there was a “guard device” on the volume control that prevented them from making it quieter. Again, really? We just came back after lunch on the plaza and all the main floor elevators were not working. When I asked the front desk if they knew all the elevators were out of service, they simply said “yes”, with no apology and no estimate of when service would be restored. Wow. So I’m still here, but after checkout tomorrow, I’m unlikely to return. I normally give upbeat reviews if at all possible, andI I know ever hotel has bad days, but this place needs a service reboot to go along with their recent renovation. Good luck.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank FunTripz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear FunTripz14,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies for the series of missteps you experienced in our restaurant and bar. Your feedback has been shared with our Director of Restaurants, and they will be followed up on internally. What you describe is certainly not reflective of our four-diamond standards so again, you have my apologies.

In the Tower section of the hotel, there are three elevators that serve all floors, and one exterior glass elevator that serves the top floor and the bottom three floors. At no time last week was any elevator out of service other than the exterior elevator, which is having required maintenance work completed. We regret if this caused you any inconvenience.

We appreciate your loyalty to the hotel in the past, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Another great banquet on the roof of the InterContinental Hotel on the Plaza! Once again, excellent food and service! Emilia really came through for one of our attendees with special dietary requirements. Her special care was very much appreciated! Thanks to all for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for once again choosing the InterContinental Kansas City for your banquet. We appreciate you letting us know the food and service were both excellent. Please know your comments will be shared with Emilia.

All of our private meeting rooms are very nice, but the two rooms on the rooftop offer a commanding view of the surrounding area that is unmatched in Kansas City.

We hope to host you and your group again very soon!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We have stayed at this hotel as the Alameda, the Ritz, the Fairmont and the Intercontinental. It has always been a lovely experience. Over the years, different management has tried all sorts of style in the décor, but the current trend is appalling. They have taken a beautiful facility and filled it with furniture that is better suited to a mobile home. It makes us sad to see the transformation. The service is far below what one expects of this level of hotel. We called for room service for breakfast, only wanting coffee, yogurt, and orange juice. We were told that the computer system was having problems and they didn't know if they could place an order. Seriously?! Figure it out. It was an incredibly disappointing experience, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Can't help you herel They all appear to be ugly.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guest

First of all, thank you for your loyalty to the hotel dating back to the beginnings years as the Alameda Plaza.

The renovation of the hotel completed earlier this year has been met with rave reviews from about 99% of our guests. We do realize that colors and décor is a personal preference, and we truly regret it was not to your liking.

Please accept my apologies for the delayed service when the computer system was down in the restaurant. We are aware that we need to maintain our four-diamond levels of service during these rare times, and new processes have been put in place.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews