We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and interesting”

The National Museum of Toys and Miniatures
Ranked #14 of 154 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Museum of Toys and Miniatures, formerly the Toy and Miniature Museum of Kansas City, reopened on August 1, 2015 after an $8 million renovation. The National Museum of Toys and Miniatures features one of the nation's largest collection of antique toys and the world's largest collection of contemporary, fine-scale miniatures.
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unusual and interesting”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was an interesting place to visit for a couple of hours. The collection of dolls houses is large and slightly repetitive but there's lots else to see. The miniatures are amazing for their variety and the intricate detail whilst the collections of toys and marbles are also interesting.

My one negative comment is that not all exhibits had much - or any - explanation about them which would have helped to make my visit a little more interesting. More generally, the museum sometimes had a slightly amateur feel to it which is a shame as it actually seemed well organised and run.

Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area and want to see something a little out of the ordinary.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RS10675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    46
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Massive collection: Something for Everyone”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Each visit to the Miniature Museum has been ponderous and entertaining. To get a sense of completion, I realize now, would necessitate going alone and spending a day. The collection contains a vast and beautiful array of dollhouses. My friend noticed a sign stating that the purpose of a dollhouse is to help teach a child about her future roll, be it managing a staff or being "the staff" herself. There are so many dolls, of different areas, different countries and even a swimming doll intended to entertain adults. These provide a window to an earlier time. There are miniatures so tiny that viewing them requires a microscope. Without electronic media, mass communication and ready transportation, people had time and patience for infinitesimal invention. The Doll Museum is evocative of childhood. The current Barbie display is vast. One display informs the viewer that Barbie is the spitting image of a German doll invented before Barbie, purchased in Europe by a member of the family from whence Barbie sprang. A brief visit might be best if a young child accompanies. There are areas of the museum that necessitate close supervision.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Galoshes2Heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“marbles and barbies”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is located in a beautiful structure and had several good exhibits including a tasteful history of Barbie and a fun marble maze. There are also historical American Girl dolls. The grandparent and kids had fun for a bit over an hour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“WoW! Amazing collection! Jewel!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I could not believe my eyes reading negative comments! The key is you have to know what to expect before you come.
I came with my 8-year old, and we both were absolutely amazed with the collection of miniatures (it is most unique and valuable here since the creators of the museum were actually collectors of miniature items and doll houses). I could have spend the whole day there recognizing famous European and American crafts representing in such an unusual way. What a pleasure! Doll houses are a special treat as well. Where in the USA can you find doll houses from many countries in one place? It is trully unique. The antique toy presentation is not that great, but the way worth looking and exploring.
If you are with little kids (they cannot play with the toys there :) - make a game: find dog or cat or bird figurines. Who will find more?
The masion itself is very lovely too. Exhibitions are nicely and thoughtfully displayed - with passion and knowledge. I wish they had more info in the booklet. I felt like I would like a tour as well.
A True Jewel! Great price too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elenasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I took my 3 daughters to this museum for an afternoon outing. It's mostly miniatures, so be prepared. My daughters loved looking at all of the tiny doll house accessories. The toy section is on the top and the historic toys are intersting. Make sure to look from the windows to enjoy the view.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Museum of Toys and Miniatures also viewed

 

Been to The National Museum of Toys and Miniatures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing