We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven for Red Meat Lovers”

Em Chamas Brazilian Grill
Ranked #137 of 1,558 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: USD 25 - USD 100
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 45 Highway and Cosby
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We went on a very cold Saturday Christmas weekend. To our pleasant surprise there is an ice terrace just outside the restaurant...there were many skaters, a big outdoor fire, Christmas carols playing...and Christmas lights decorating the ice terrace...this really added a nice extra touch to start our evening.

We had early reservations for when they first opened, 4 PM. We were promptly greeted and seated... right in front of their indoor fireplace... another perfect touch on a cold Christmas weekend. We treated the salad bar and hot bar like appetizers to save room for the meats. Both the salad bar and hot bar were good...but nothing compared to the meats.

When the meats started, WOW! Cooked to perfection, we had various steaks, lamb, chicken, pork, sausage... the flavor and juices were outstanding! Only the pork was a little disappointing in flavor, but perhaps it was because the steak was so incredible.

All of the servers were very professional, polite, and prompt. They kept the meat coming as long as we requested it with the flag (a wooden peg really) on our table. Finally our bill was accurate and once again prompt!

My advice...go hungry...considering going early...make reservations...plan a longer time than normal for dinner...if you are a meat lover, especially red meat (various steaks and other beef)...you will LOVE this restaurant...if you are not a big meat eater...you might find this restaurant pricey if you are eating mainly just the salad and hot food bar.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

My husband andI have want to eat here for years! We finally made it a reality! The staff is wonderful, friendly, and helpful! We had a Groupon for two which included an excellent bottle of wine! We tried every type of meat offered! Three types of chicken,sausage, ribs,ham, pork loin, lamb, and five types of beef! On top of the meat there are7-10 side dishes, plus a 20+ item salad bar and two soups. If you go away hungry it is your fault! Great place for a special event! Yes, it Isa little expensive, but considering the service, quality and quantity of food! We will return!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank b4osage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The Salad bar and Hot bar are a great starter and then the amazing meats start coming. The Provolone stuffed steak is amazing along with the garlic steak. Ribs are very meaty and great sauce. You will not walk away hungry from this place. The waiters are very attentive and the meat servers are always making the rounds. We love taking friends and family here.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

So, even with a Groupon, it was a little pricey. But, the food was very delicious! We went right at the beginning of dinner service so everything was very fresh. The salad/food bar was not too big but everything was soooo good! The crab salad, the greek olives and green beans, and the marinated cheese were my favorites, but my husband had more of the hot offerings and was impressed by it all. The meat service was very good, and pretty much everything was super delicious. Get the lamb early! And you can probably pass on the sausages or just share one with your partner. The main thing I didn't like was that there weren't small plates just for the meat, so make sure to leave space on your plate from the buffet. Don't be shy about turning down meat, I promise they will be back by soon, and don't be shy about requesting something if you have a fav. Overall, a little more expensive than other Brazillian BBQ's I've been too, and the atmosphere a little more formal, but delicious food.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahryn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

My husband and I ate here and really enjoyed the food especially the salad bar and hot bar. The meats were amazing tasty. No doggie bags allowed though so don't ask.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Em Chamas Brazilian Grill also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Em Chamas Brazilian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing