We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOR THE KIDS”

Old Hobart Town Model Village
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 87.78*
and up
Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card
More Info
USD 72.48*
and up
Small-Group Tour from Hobart Including Mt Wellington, Bonorong Wildlife...
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GOOD FOR THE KIDS”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I felt it was okay to see but its mostly for the kiddies .. I am glad that I went in because when you see it you'll appreciate all the work that was put in to this!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank off2cdaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    116
    41
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Hobart's past well explained and documented, although I feel the entry fee is a little too high for what it is.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank katsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is a bit of a throwback to less sophisticated travel experience. Nonetheless it is more than a model of early Hobart as the builders have taken the time to populate it with people doing things that demonstrate life as it would have been. Having been to Hobart already helped me to visualise the model and relate it to Hobart today. I think this area needs more work.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Helot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
1,184 reviews
566 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Nice little model”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Very detailed model of early Hobart. Not very big, also overpriced, but I found it quite interesting. There's a fair bit of information about various buildings and comparisons to modern Hobart.

Helpful?
Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just for the knowledge”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I went there thinking that is will be a BIG model village but quite disappointed when the model village just covering only a small area. Just took a few photos and proceed for another location. Richmond is a small town that just look like in the TV show where everyone knows everyone!! The scenery is nice though.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank byetzhourha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Hobart Town Model Village also viewed

 
Richmond, Clarence
 

Been to Old Hobart Town Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing