We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of urgency ... into a marvelous place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Auberge Camelia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Planning to sleep on the Plateau de Glières, where by accident all hostels were closed that day, my brother and I found refuge after hours of hiking at this wonderful charming Auberge Camelia next to the Tête du Parmelan. We liked the cosy reception by the owners Sue, Roger & the helping hands (including the lovely dogs).
After a delicious regional dish we finished the evening in nice company and with some very good whisky. The comfortable room and the good continental breakfast did a great deal in helping us out at the next days' hike & bike tour back to Geneva. In total, its an excellent place to spend some days in friendly British atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed for only one night and I've never felt more sorry I made my plans ahead and didn't book at least two nights in hotel Auberge Camelia. What was intended as a single 'on route' stop to get some rest turned out to be a great pleasure in the company of our lovely hosts Suzanne & Roger! They sure know what they are doing making you feel absolutely at home in their lovely family hotel!
Food was delicious, wine was perfect, what else could a traveller needs in France?
We are on a motorcycle tour across southern France and I know we're coming back to Auberge Camelia one day soon!

Room Tip: For 3+ pax ask for room 8 on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vakme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Sue and Roger made us feel at home and made excellent recommendations to help us enjoy the fantastic scenery and alpine fare.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimNeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Our initial first impression of Auberge Camelia was excellent. We arrived late at night and were greated by a sumptuous platter including meat, cheese, wine and chocolate cake. Once arriving in the room we were disgusted by the filth. The corners of the room didnt appear to be recently vacuumed, there were some cobwebs, and appeared to be some mold in the bathroom. All of these deficiencies could have easily been corrected with five minutes of cleaning in the room. We were also concerned with the breakfast. The jams were left open all day and the bread/ croissants needed to be replenished more often. On the positive note, Roger and Sue (owners) are very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do in the local area. We also had dinner one night which was very good and we tried the local specialty. Our overall impression impression is that Sue and Roger run this bed and breakfast more like a hobby then a business, which is good and bad. I think alot of the customers are regulars who like the quirkiness of Auberge Camelia. If the hotel put an emphasis on cleanliness I would consider returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast in the french alps. We flew into the Geneva airport and rented a car to head to the bed and breakfast. Well, we got lost....Roger was so kind to come to town and meet us and let us follow him to the B & B. When we arrived there it was about 9-10 p.m. Suzanne, a very friendly and wonderful hostess, gave us dinner at this late hour. What a treat ! They treated us like family, took us on a tour of their town and the mountains. What a beautiful trip they took us on. We will always remember their grand generosity and friendliness and truly ..... I hope we can go back some day. It would be wonderful to spend a week there to relax. What a break from our busy trip we were on. Thank you, Thank you Suzanne and Roger we enjoyed every minute of our visit with you. And your beds are so comfy also......

Room Tip: No noise in the french alps ! Peace & Quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviernoz
15.1 km away
Hotel Rey
Hotel Rey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Blaise
163 reviews
14.2 km away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
375 reviews
7.7 km away
B&B Hotel Annecy
B&B Hotel Annecy
#1 of 2 in Argonay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Les Acacias Bellevue
Les Acacias Bellevue
#2 of 3 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
91 reviews
11.1 km away
Privilodges Le Royal - Apparthotel
9.8 km away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auberge Camelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auberge Camelia

Address: 406 route de Villaz | Grand Annecy, 74570 Aviernoz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Aviernoz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Price Range: $104 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Auberge Camelia 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Auberge Camelia is peacefully situated between Lake Geneva and Lake Annecy in the French Alpine village of Aviernoz.Offering 10 very comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, and a restaurant, this is an ideal location for skiing, mountain walking or relaxing. It also serves as an excellent base to explore the French Alps, whether enjoying the clear, clean mountain air, or discovering the beauty of the mountains, lakes and villages in this outstanding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Auberge Camelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Camelia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing