We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine Les Roullets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine Les Roullets
Ranked #3 of 19 Oppede B&B and Inns
Blokzijl, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed at Domaine Les Roullets for one week this July and it was magical ! What a wonderfull place to be!! Owners Thomas and Rudolph have lovingly renovated this old domaine to a 5*+ retreat, with beautiful rooms, a great pool and a large garden to relax in...

Our very comfortable and spacious room was uniquely decorated, and had heavenly beds and a bathroom with separate shower and bath.
Around the heated swimmingpool there is a spacious terrace and plenty of comfortable reclining chairs, with a summer kitchen where one can get a drink or prepare a simple lunch. A lovely breakfast is served each morning; a communal affair, which we liked very much as it gave us the possibilities to connect with our fellow-guests with different nationalities.
And for dinner there are plenty of restaurants in the area, and Thomas and Rudolph also offer dinner once or twice a week.

Domaine Les Roullets has a very quiet location amidst their own vineyards and orchard, but with plenty of typical Provence towns within short driving distance. The area around the Domaine lends itself also for nice long walks.

In short: an epithomy of good taste !!
Even one week was too short and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

I booked Domaine les Roullets for a last minute trip to the Luberon. At a cost of €220 a night I expected a quality comparable to a good hotel. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts across Provence in the past and have had some wonderful experiences, great hosts, beautiful rooms, amazing breakfasts for a cost of around €170 a night so for an additional €50 expected Domaine les Roullets to surpass these, it couldn't have failed worse.

On arrival the house and grounds were beautiful, a lovingly rennovated old building, although perhaps not as sympathetically as could possibly have been achieved. Our room and bathroom were a good size and well equipped although no floor length mirror and the other mirrors in the room were at 5ft 5 too high for me to see in to! An odd mixture of furniture that didn't really complement the style of the house but no serious compliants.

The major issues and the reason that this is not a place I would ever return to were based on service. Breakfast is served on a communal table, this felt very crowded and when on holiday it's nice to have the option to eat alone in the morning rather than being forced to indulge in small talk (worth noting here that this bed and breakfast attracts mainly Dutch and Belgian guests so without a shared language this made the experiece extremaly uncomfortable). The quality of the breakfast was appalling, a limited cheese and a meat plate which were sitting in the sun, a poor selection of yoghurts (only strawberry and raspberry) a bowl of pastries and some cold pancakes. Not comparable to anywhere else I've stayed in France at this price level, more what you'd expect from an Ibis or Travelodge.

What truely offended me was that on returning to my room after breakfast with an hour and a half of my stay still paid for my belongings had been moved off the bed, the bed had been stripped of the sheets and all of the towels had been taken fromt he bathroom. So much for the swim and shower I was planning to have before I left! This horrified me and is not something I have ever experienced in any other hotel or bed and breakfast anywhere in the world.

It's also worth noting that whilst most other small hotels/bed and breakfasts in France will let you arrive mid afternoon and stay until midday, Domaine les Roullets requests and early checkout and no arrival before late afternoon.

In conclusion there are so many gorgeous places to stay in the area that you can get far better experience, value for money and quality of stay if you look elsewhere. If Domaine les Roullets dropped their prices by €70 they would be in line with their competitors, the experience I had and price I paid left me feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Indy_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas-B-59, Owner at Domaine Les Roullets, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
so sad to read such a negative review ! in spite of all our efforts obviously not everyone can be pleased. may we correct some of the information that is untrue.
* breakfast is from 9 until 10 h and quite extensive. we only use top products and breads from the best bakery in the area, a wide variety and daily changing fresh items. fortunately our breakfast is highly appreciated by almost all our guests.
* if any guest prefers to have a private breakfast it is possible and served on their private terrace in front of the guest room. this option is mentioned in the information booklet in the room.
* check in time is before 12 h or after 15.30 h, check out time is until 10.30 h. departing guests can store luggage and use the further facilities of the estate for as long as they want...when leaving later they can fresh up / take a shower in the bathroom of our orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed here only for a weekend, which wasn't nearly long enough. If you are looking for a stylish getaway, this is for you. Unlike many other B&Bs in the area, Les Roullets has been decorated in a contemporary chic way, with wetroom type bathrooms in natural muted tones (carved into the natural stonework, which gave it an interesting and unique edge), and fun artwork. Our room had an exceptionally comfortable bed. A special mention for the towels, linen and robes, which smelled heavenly! There was a small cupboard with hanging space for belongings and a shelf to store a case, but not a huge amount of extra space, so if going for a long time pack light or ask about room size before going. We also had a bath in our room, separate from the bathroom.

Room was very well insulated - we couldn't hear any noise at all from outside, thus aiding our sleep! Fully air conditioned.

As for the property itself, it is stunning with fantastic views across the hillside. We walked around the grounds and spotted various little areas where one can sit and have a drink or gaze dreamily into the distance. It's ideally situated for sightseeing the famous neighbouring villages.

Breakfast was simply perfect - a communal affair outside around a large stone table. We were there for two days but each day there were different things - fresh bread and buttery pastries and fresh fruit (a bowl of cherries or whole peaches), sliced cheese and meat, a hot egg dish (boiled or scrambled and both delicious , cereal, yoghurt, freshly squeezed juice and coffee to order (cappuccino, espresso, etc.) A lot of detail and thought has gone into the presentation (beautiful china and place settings, table decorated with flowers from the garden etc), and I could have happily sat there for hours! (It helped that the weather was perfect.)

The hosts, Thomas and Rudolph (helped out at breakfast by Thomas's beautiful mother) are utterly charming and helpful, and had thoughtfully provided a list of nearby restaurants in each room - something which we find missing in many hotels/B&Bs.

The only thing left to be mentioned is the fabulous pool. I literally had to tear myself away from it! It's in a secluded sunny spot, with plenty of chairs and loungers, and pool towels. I think Thomas & Rudolph have thought of everything at Domaine Les Roullets - I'm a very picky person and I couldn't find fault with it at all. We hated to leave, and hope to go back when time allows.

Very highly recommended - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josefa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

This was one fabulous treat! A perfect getaway, in the capable hands of very attentive hosts Rudolph and Thomas, whose house has been restored to near perfection. Sumptuous breakfasts, every morning overseen by Thomas' mother, a lovely talkative lady. She and her husband also live on the premises. Lunches and the one table d'hote we had were great!
The room is very nice, with a lot of attention for detail and has a very comfortable bed (boxspring). A few slight drawbacks are the lack of proper reading lights, no door between the bed and bathroom (for us traditional folks) and the bath tub in the bedroom, which takes up too much valuable space and is never used in hot summer months - certainly not by us. Two comfortable arm chairs would have been very appreciated. The ones supplied are not that good for reading.
The television hangs too high when seated. And I have to agree that the mirror in the bathroom is slightly on the high side as well for small people.
But other than these small things, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we get an opportunity, we will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharina3758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

This charming, 3-room, boutique B&B is a perfect place to stay while exploring the lovely area of the Luberon. This stone farmhouse has been lovingly restored by the owners, Rudolph & Tomas, and they have done a superb job. Everywhere you look is a feast for the eyes. The breakfasts are delicious, and Tomas & Rudolph are wonderful hosts, available, but not overbearing.
The pool area is perfect, and the property itself invites strolls through the vineyards and gardens. My only complaint was that although the rooms were decorated beautifully, and in the style of the region, they were not as comfortable as I would have liked. The rods in the closet were very high, and not within my reach, as were the bathroom mirrors. There are no dressers or bureaus and limited shelf space, so the room felt small and crowded. Nevertheless, this is an excellent property, and a delightful place from which to enjoy Provence.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zeeLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oppede
11.7 km away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
31.7 km away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
36.0 km away
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Ro...
#1 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Domaine de Fontenille
9.7 km away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#3 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
8.6 km away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Les Roullets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Les Roullets

Property: Domaine Les Roullets
Address: 305 A Chemin de Font Dreche, 84580 Oppede, France
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Oppede
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Oppede
Price range (per night): $309 - $473
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine Les Roullets is a boutique bed and breakfast and vineyard located in the golden triangle of Provence. It has breathtaking views of the nearby Luberon mountains and is only a short drive from the picturesque hilltop villages of Gordes, Bonnieux, Ménerbes and Roussillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domaine Les Roullets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Les Roullets Oppede, France - Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing