We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth le Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Logis du Guetteur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Can't say enough about this friendly place atop the hill in Les Arcs. Friendly embracing staff, beautiful view and a magnificent dinner. Ordered from the 77€ menu. Recommend the Hommard with tagliatelle, the ris de veau appetizer, ris de veau main and the mango souffle. Delish and memorable.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Oliver1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Le Logis du Guetteur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2016

We went to the Logis for our honeymoon. The medieval village surrounding the old castle that was our hotel was beautiful, very picturesque. The hotel itself went with the medieval style, preserving the antique flair of the place. Sadly, that is the best thing to say about this hotel.
The staff was mostly nice, but no one spoke English. They understood most of what we said in English but the reply was almost always in French.Which makes you wonder since students in France do learn English in school, don't they...

Our room was okay, clean and it had air conditioning. Sadly the WiFi reception was poor and the shower lacked a curtain, so whenever we showered the entire bathroom was flooded.

We were excited for the food, after reading many positive reviews beforehand. However, we were severely disappointed. We sat down on chairs with stained cushions, I unrolled a stained napkin and there were a few very small bugs (maybe mini-flies) crawling from the basked with the bread rolls.
There was exactly one option for vegetarians and that did not change during the three nights we ate there. If that option had been good, fine... But it was not! The main course, a risotto, was no risotto at all. It was flavourless, overcooked Basmati rice, drenched in oil. NOT a proper risotto! The appetizer was steamed, unseasoned vegetables for me which seemed thrown together carelessly after I send back the plate containing fish which I had said beforehand I do not eat.
The other courses and the options with meat my husband chose were not much better, especially considering the price. If I pay 77€/person for one dinner, EXCLUDING drinks (astronomically overpriced as well), I expect good food, not soggy rice in place of risotto and soup that tastes as if cooked from a convenience blend.
The "highlight" was the small candy after dessert: We found the EXACT same thing in the supermarket for 2€ per 10 pieces...

So all in all: terribly overpriced. The place and it's staff think very highly of themselves and simply cannot deliver at all! We are very disappointed and would not recommend this place to anyone! Save yourself the money and find a place where the cook actually can cook!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Wonderful ancient Property. Be sure to book on the Terrace next to a middle window for best views.
Food is excellent. Summer Truffle Menu . . . .
Only negative is dreadful Parking - I have suggested many times that they have a Valet to park. Please do the same !
And 5 minutes way is the Maison de Vins which sells all Provençal wines at the price of the Chateau. Plus charming Staff to help you choose.
A wonderful day out !

Room Tip: We only eat there !
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Srenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We went there for a birthday, attracted by the excellent reputation of the place. The place is super good looking. The owners are very friendly. The wine is good. The food is really good, based on a well balanced set menu. Too bad the staff tricked us when we ordered children food, offering to do special dishes they would like and then charging us more than the overall adult set: that is the type of practice I cannot tolerate from a luxury place!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We stayed two nights in room 4 - ground level when you enter but the window, looking east across the rooftops of the town, past the church and out into the countryside feels like you must be 50 feet in the air. The room was small, basic but comfortable, the bathroom a little outdated. If you tend to spend a lot of time hanging around in your hotel room you'd probably feel constrained, but if you just want somewhere to sleep and freshen up it's fine. Unobtrusive and very controllable aircon, essential in Provence in the summer.

We ate the base menu, 39 euros for three courses (but with several amuse-gueles brought to the table too). Excellent food, tasty, well presented, good portion sizes. Breakfast (extra) was fruit, bread and pastries - no cereals or cooked breakfast on offer. We were late to breakfast (and others in our party even later) so that some missed 'official' breakfast time (0800-1000 at weekends) but the staff took it all in their stride, served us and didn't get at all bumptious.

There's car parking in the courtyard and on the access road, although you might have to be 'creative' in manufacturing a parking place, and comfortable with close quarter manoeuvring.

Nice pool, loungers and sheltered spaces for those not requiring a Californian tan,

The hotel site is, itself, a tourist attraction, so during the day camera-toting tourists occasionally wander in. Its location (at the very top of the town) lets you wander down through the medieval town's narrow streets – too narrow for traffic – covered passages and stepped alleys until you emerge in the main square, full of restaurant tables under the plane trees.

One drawback, no bar or lounge. Drinks are served in the restaurant area, but it's not a location that would encourage kicking-back and relaxing over a few drinks. Save money though! And there are a few classic French bars in the town

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Arcs sur Argens
10.6 km away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
63 reviews
19.3 km away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
313 reviews
10.7 km away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
504 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Aurelia
Hotel Aurelia
#3 of 5 in Les Arcs sur Argens
42 reviews
7.9 km away
Hotel Le Col de l'Ange-Restaurant Panoragrill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Les Arcs sur Argens

Been to Le Logis du Guetteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Logis du Guetteur

Address: Place du Chateau, 83460 Les Arcs sur Argens, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Les Arcs sur Argens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Les Arcs sur Argens
Price Range: $194 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Logis du Guetteur 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Logis du Guetteur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing