We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Logis du Guetteur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We loved the location of the hotel - the views were stunning. It's set in a medieval village above the town of Les Arcs and we felt it was a very beautiful setting. The room was very comfortable and clean and we felt that it was very good value. The air conditioning was a welcome addition. The pool area was beautiful and a nice surprise as I hadn't really spotted that there would be one - especially a bonus as it was very hot when we arrived. We also had dinner at the restaurant, and although expensive, it was heavenly, worth every penny. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the hotel and restaurant.

We were, however, quite surprised by the welcome by the staff, who although reasonably polite didn't ask for ID and we didn't sign in for the room (we had booked on line, but thought this was unusual). We weren't asked to sign for the meal either - I did keep a very close track of what we had and the bill was correct, so it wasn't a particular problem. I had read reviews on line and the only really negative comment had been about the poor value breakfast, so we chose not to have breakfast there.

Overall, we had a really lovely time - we had made a last minute booking on line and although normally quite expensive, we felt we definitely got value for money. If you're looking for a stylish, quiet hotel, Le Logis du Guetteur is to be recommended.

Room Tip: I'd imagine all rooms are quiet as they are set away from the restaurant, in a quiet area.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boltonfamily693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Le Logis du Guetteur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had our wedding in the garden in August and enjoyed a fantastic meal with friends in a private room in the evening. The bedrooms are all very individual and most have great views. The food was out of this world and the staff couldn't do enough to help. They were also very patient with our poor French!
It is a lovely and very individual hotel. The surroundings are beautiful and have ensured that we had a great day. To add to the celebration, a local patisseriere had made a traditional French 'piece montee' wedding cake which was fantastic. Can't say enough about what a great stay we had. We would wholly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just came for dinner with friends and became very dissapointed. Happy that we did not go for the 98€ menue. The 23€ menue was actually also overpriced with soma very dry ducklegs and polenta. Service friendly,setting nice but food outdated, overcooked and overpriced.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
6  Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We spent two very pleasant nights at this hotel. In brief summary, it is a very nice hotel, you are unlikely to be disappointed but may feel a bit overcharged.

On the plus side, the views from the terrace are beautiful, the pool area very nice (though you are overlooked by people eating in the restaurant - didn't bother us but might bother others) and the old village setting is pretty. Generally, I think the pictures on the hotel website somewhat undersell the place. The rooms, whilst appearing a bit dated in terms of style (possibly intentional) are nonetheless finished to a decent standard and are not as tired as the website photos appear. Probably the biggest criticism of the room would be that there was no shower curtain on the bath.

On the downside, the staff are hit and miss - the lady manning reception is very friendly and helpful, but some of the restaurant staff are a bit casual and there was still food on the floor in the restaurant from the previous evening when we arrived for breakfast. Nothing dreadful but you would expect better. We also felt that the hotel rather took advantage of guests in terms of prices charged for drinks and breakfast in particular (a shame as one of the key appeals of the hotel is to enjoy breakfast on the terrace taking in the views - less possible when you are being overcharged for the privilege - the breakfast was pleasant but in no way justified the price).

To mention, I understand that the restaurant at the hotel has a very good reputation. We did not eat there but instead had an excellent meal at the restaurant at the Maison des Vins just outside the village. The food and wine was of very good quality and the prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canihavearewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Yes, the view is nice enough, although of nothing in particular but a field and church tower. No staff at reception, no towels at pool, only accessible through the restaurant terrace. Rooms have peculiar decorations and bath is practically unusable.

Restaurant strives to be something it can't quite seem to deliver. Lot's of staff hustling about but nothing being accomplished. Same choices for prix fix menu two nights in a row. Only went back because other restaurants were closed.

Left breakfast after waiting for 20 minutes and seeing six other tables not served.
Definitely needs to be organized. There is a strained atmosphere, and little of the charm that one would expect upon seeing the setting.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miniamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Arcs sur Argens
10.6 km away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
63 reviews
19.3 km away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
313 reviews
10.7 km away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
504 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Aurelia
Hotel Aurelia
#3 of 5 in Les Arcs sur Argens
42 reviews
7.9 km away
Hotel Le Col de l'Ange-Restaurant Panoragrill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Les Arcs sur Argens

Been to Le Logis du Guetteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Logis du Guetteur

Address: Place du Chateau, 83460 Les Arcs sur Argens, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Les Arcs sur Argens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Les Arcs sur Argens
Price Range: $193 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Logis du Guetteur 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Logis du Guetteur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing