We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Wonderful, clean, spacious B and B. Debbie is such a gracious host. Enjoyed a 2 night stay while visiting the University. I stayed in the Wildlife Conservation Room. Large 2 room suite with private bath. Very nice. The breakfasts are huge and really tasty. The B and B is owned by the University so the staff are students in the hospitality program.....based on the delightful service I received, they should go far! I have stayed in a lot of B and Bs over the years....this is a very fine one. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

We had never stayed at a B&B before. Wow, were we in for a surprise! This place is just fabulous. Lovingly restored frat house, with beautiful polished oak everywhere. The suites were huge. The food was great. Very quiet. It's part of the University and the students work there for the experience. Super friendly. Really well located next to the university.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marijaruta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed at TGP three nights while attending a meeting on the Mizzou campus. Location is perfect--the university is right across the street and the District with shops and restaurants is a quick drive away. Deb and the staff were wonderful, and the breakfasts were huge and fabulous. No need to eat again until dinner. We stayed in the Natural History room. We loved the decor & bed, but couples/women traveling alone might want to stay in one of the larger suites. The bathroom sink, a simple pedestal placed outside the bathroom, has no place to put makeup, hair products, etc. when you're getting ready for the day. Other than that and a little bit of mold in the shower, no complaints at all. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed two nights for a biking weekend getaway. The Gathering Place is nicely decorated and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and we had very nice conversations with the other guests. It is located right across the street from Mizzou campus, which makes for a lovely walk to Main Squeeze and RagTag Cinema. There is a nice back patio and off street parking. And the breakfasts were just lovely-you get to order the evening before. I highly recommend the Gathering Place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JER82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The staff was very attentive to all guests. The rooms are well-decorated and clean but are also very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the atmosphere was very congenial.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.9 km away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.0 km away
The Tiger Hotel
The Tiger Hotel
#8 of 36 in Columbia
321 reviews
3.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 36 in Columbia
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast

Address: 606 S College Ave, Columbia, MO 65201
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range: $109 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast, housed in one of Columbia's original homes, offers a unique blend of convenience and luxury with its proximity to campus and the downtown District area, historic charm and modern amenities. Pamper yourself with spacious suites, private baths and sitting areas, free off-street parking and a gourmet breakfast, in the heart of a vibrant academic community, all steps away from the MU campus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing