We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Oasis”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Reviewed 16 August 2017

An overnight visit resulted in a delightful getaway at this oasis in the heart of the city. Smallish queen room was nicely appointed and comfortable. A warm welcome was enhanced by warm cookies on arrival! Breakfast exceeded expectations with hot food included. A treasure!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I recently spent two nights at this modestly priced hotel and was impressed with the room; quiet, well appointed, clean, comfortable. However, the staff was exceptional. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. My friend and I ate in the courtyard twice. The food was good and the atmosphere pleasant. The staff, particularly Michael, were very attentive and added much to the enjoyment of the evening. Michael even escorted my friend to her car after 11:00 . I will gladly stay here in the future.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank nilyram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I stay here often. Very charming, shows a little wear but many rooms have recently been redone. A good bar and restaurant and a GREAT staff. Also afternoon cookies and evening wine. Breakfast is included each morning and is pretty good and the USA Today is provided each morning. Charming garden courtyard for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Try to stay off the third floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Room 202 appears to be a bigger king bed room. I saw another with queen and it was smaller. Buffet breakfast is good with hot specials and yummy sweet rolls. A small bootle of tropics a orange juice (ask for a glass to split it). Staff is small but efficient. Parking across the street is valet. Great location and quiet. Must cherry your own bag up stairs.

Room Tip: Depends on size you need. We had east facing. Corner gives more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Traveled here for a weekend visit. Property is located in a 1920's era building which was at some point rehabbed into a small hotel with onsite restaurant.

Major pros - will not mistake this for a chain hotel. Very quaint, rooms are nice sized, clean, very comfortable beds, good wifi and TV. Many nearby dining options, including on site restaurant / pub, which was real nice. Very helpful staff, informal but attentive.

Major con - If you have lots of luggage, don't refuse help getting to your room if its on the second or third floor. No elevators, just stairs. Property is clean, but older. One thing I wished is that they would wash the windows facing the courtyard - when I looked out one of my second floor windows, it was very dusty and hard to see out of.

This could be a fun option if you travel a lot and the fairfield inn isn't cutting it for you, or you want a more intimate experience. Some rooms located right above the bar can be noisy, but the others are very quiet. Staff is informal but very friendly, housekeeping is a bit slow but they get the job done and I didn't see any of the dirt that some other reviewers complained of.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JMMtx1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
989 reviews
The Cheshire
#47 of 123 in Saint Louis
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#41 of 123 in Saint Louis
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $175 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing