We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really warm welcome and a perfect location for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan, stylish living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan, stylish living area
Modern kitchen with chrome appliances
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Open plan, stylish living area
Modern kitchen with chrome appliances
Relaxing lighting throughout
En suite shower room
Al Lait products
Large king size bed
Exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Evenley, Northamptonshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ben L
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really warm welcome and a perfect location for visiting the Heart of England”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We took a short break at Swallows Cottage at Elm Tree Farm, it was one of the most relaxing breaks we've ever had. Coming straight from a christening we arrived a little out of hours, but having discussed this with Lizzy before hand it wasn't going to be a problem. We were met on arrival and shown round the cottage, very pleased to see the welcome basket left out for us :-).

The cottage was lovely - smart and well presented and very well equipped for a one bed, everything we needed was there.

Lizzy and Geoff were happy to recommend places to visit and eat (the Red Lion in Evenly does very good grub) and they really went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible, considering Elm Tree is very much a working farm we were very impressed with this.

Having never stayed in this part of the country before we were amazed at the amount of places to visit and activities we could do - spent a great morning at Silverstone (really just 10 minutes up the road) and Oxford was only 30 minutes away (use the excellent park and ride btw) and its also within driving distance of lovely towns and villages in the Cotswolds (such as Stow).

Definitely be returning soon and I can't think of a better location to spend the British GP weekend (if we get round to it).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and quality of the cottage
Liked least: Took a few minutes to work out the kitchen switches for the lighting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best hosts you could wish for.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had the pleasure to stay with Geoff and Lizzy for a few days in August with my 7yr old daughter and extended family. The accommodation is of excellent quality and finish with all of the facilities you could wish for, a real home away from home. There's plenty of space and the novelty of staying on a working farm was great, my daughter had enormous fun watching the farmer go about his daily routine, she was absolutely fascinated and both ours hosts were brilliant with her and all of her questions. Overall we had a fabulous and relaxing time and our hosts simply couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming, they really made the break all the more enjoyable and we are certainly planning to visit them again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accomodation and the wonderfully genuine hospitality or our hosts
Liked least: I didn't get to drive a tractor (NOTE: This was not an advertised service, I just couldn't thing of anything ti complain about)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomD85201...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Week at Elm Tree Farm”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We went to Elm Tree Farm as 2 couples staying in the 2 one bedroom cottages. Both cottages looked just like the website, extremely modern, clean and well equipped. We used the cottages as a base to go and explore the surrounding areas and a week wasn't long enough! The hosts couldn't have been more helpful, and were always on hand if required or just for friendly chat. We would highly recommend this property and we will definately be going back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the cottages
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira G
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation and hosts!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic extended family week at Elm Tree Farm staying in 2 of the larger cottages. The cottages were such a high standard and Lizzy & Geoff were absolutely brilliant hosts. Nothing was to much trouble and they even joined us for a very special extended family BBQ and we were so happy they did. We had a lovely 7 year old with us and they both welcomed her into lots of lovely aspects of the farm - she certainly loved feeding the chickens! I truly hope the business goes from strength to strength as they both so deserve it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely setting and hosts
Liked least: There was nothing to not like !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing