We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday hideaway in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Sea view from veranda over Lyme Bay Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Sea view from veranda over Lyme Bay
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Sea view from lounge
Kitchen
Dining table
Countryside views from garden towards Portland
View of Chesil Lodge Cottage from garden
Veranda seating area
Countryside views over organic farmland and National Trust land
Sunset on Chesil Beach
Gate to private garden and parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
West Bexington, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BathPanda
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Chesil beach is very special”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had attentive and helpful service when booking & a very welcome basket of tea, milk, biscuits and wine on arrival. Chesil Lodge Cottage was spotless with soap etc supplied. However, the approach down a long narrow, slightly overgrown, drive with no turning place was off putting and a fence blocked the best view of the sea! The sofas were so deep, it was very difficult to get up again! The lighting unfortunately shone straight up to the ceiling making it very dim and reading in the evening nigh impossible! There was so little space either side of the double bed, my husband struggled to get in and out and I found it claustophobic. Even in the suggested place to reach broadband, we failed. Had two excellent meals in Burton Bradstock at The Three Horseshoes and Seaside Boarding House. We returned home late Tuesday afternoon instead of Thursday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday hideaway in great location”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The owners were quick to respond to initial queries, directions were brilliant and a lovely welcome basket was left for us (just as well as I forgot our teabags!). The cottage was bright, clean, fully and actually better than expected furbished and fitted the 5 of us very well. The garden has a BBQ and nice seating. We loved exploring Weymouth and West Bay and particularly Hive Beach which is only a short drive away and was great for swimming (we did have superb weather). We knew from the owners that wifi would be patchy, which it was but worked better than mobile phone reception. We really liked that it was private and had a wonderful break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, the whole place
Liked least: wifi/internet is patchy but that is down to coverage not the property
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexmould...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect location and accomodation”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were very happy at Chesil Lodge Cottage. We came with our young children, our eldest son being a wheelchair user. Though not advertised as such the cottage is accessible for wheelchairs but not adapted so for those who need it, it is adequately suited to those with limited mobility or families with a disabled child. There is plenty of room, we were a party of 3 adults and 3 children for which it felt cosy but not cramped. The place was clean and bright, very homely perfect for families. The garden has a decked (wheelchair accessible) area with seating plus another in a sunnier area of the garden (not so accessible for electric, prob ok for manual). The kitchen was very well stocked with those home from home items that are sometimes missing in self catering accommodation. There were a few books and games too. The sea views and minutes walk to the sea was really special. Great for fishing or picnics on the pebbled beach. We loved it. Nice little village with a steep uphill walk to the farm shop and pub. Lots of nice places to visit on the doorstep. Wifi an phone reception is very hit and miss due to remote location, not a problem for us, but worth mentioning.
The owners were very friendly and helpful, we were very pleased to find a small welcome basket with tea, biscuits, children's cereals and a bottle of wine. Chris couldn't have been more helpful trying to make a ramp for the garden. Helen was also a great help during a family emergency. Thanks for a lovely holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and well stocked, could deal with family life here! location and beach.
Liked least: the fence in the garden, is a shame it blocks the sea view when sitting out.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Very relaxing stay, great location. Chris left us a welcome pack teabags and sugar which were much appreciated indeed.nice size cottage for the two of us.great walks to be had and great views.a stones throw from the ocean,all round a great little getaway.we will be returning in the near future
Thank you to Chris and Helen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location
Liked least: having to leave
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel196520...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location, spoiled by lack of hygiene.”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal location for beach walks, National Trust walks and properties, pebble painting, sea air, fossil hunting. Well equipped accommodation. Sadly let down by the lack of hygiene in some areas of the chalet. Travelling with young children, cleanliness is paramount and sadly this did not live up to our expectations given the glowing reviews which were taken in to account. Passed my issues on to the owner who was apologetic. Hopefully the concerns with the bathroom cleanliness and oil smell will be rectified for any others that stay there as would hate for them to have their stay spoiled like ours was. Would recommend as long as the cleaning issues are sorted out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing