We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“soothed to sleep with the lapping of the waves...”
other travellers have booked this property
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Sea view from veranda over Lyme Bay Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Sea view from veranda over Lyme Bay
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Sea view from lounge
Kitchen
Dining table
Countryside views from garden towards Portland
View of Chesil Lodge Cottage from garden
Veranda seating area
Countryside views over organic farmland and National Trust land
Sunset on Chesil Beach
Gate to private garden and parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
West Bexington, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scottishs...
Melton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“soothed to sleep with the lapping of the waves and the beach only a stone-throw away...”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

would highly recommend this rental for friends or couples or small families. The facilities are excellent, it's a kitchen home from home, everything you need is there.
The small garden is sheltered and secluded, perfect for enjoying fizz in the sun and the Sunday papers.
Wished I had been on holiday so I could enjoy the beach more, it is a stones throw from the property and it is lovely, especially if you fish, mackerel i was told though did not see any fisherman with any.
The Manor hotel a wee walk up the road has excellent food and drink and we enjoyed a meal there. I will certainly be telling my friends about this place, it is fab!!
The only faults, if there were any was that the bed was too soft for my back, though I know some of my friends would have liked it and the wi fi is poor. This would not normally bother me but I needed access as I was there on business. There was a loose toilet seat and this has been repaired too.
I did not see the hosts but had good communication via emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: closeness to the sea
Liked least: the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieJ6...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet & Relaxing”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This chalet is in a perfect location for relaxation & just a short walk to the sea
Private off road parking
Lovely veranda to sit out & watch the birds & listen to the waves
Well equipped & comfortable beds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & private
Liked least: Sunday when it rained
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellee...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, relaxing & comfortable, in a marvellous location”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This chalet is incredibly well equipped.We ate in during the 4 day break,& took packed lunches with us during the day.
The walks along Chesil beach were superb - but we did have lovely weather!
Sitting on the veranda in the morning,drinking tea,& watching the garden birds,horses in the field & black running around hens was so relaxing.
We're hoping to return hopefully for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort & location
Liked least: seagulls rampaging on the roof
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent private & quiet location with stunning views”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable & well appointed accommodation, just a few yards from the beach. Easy access with free private off-road parking. Looking forward to returning soon and enjoying again this unspoilt coastal location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & privacy with stunning views
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our holiday
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoySkinne...
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Really cosy cottage”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Chesil Lodge Cottage was just what we needed for a short break - the weather was chilly and damp but the cottage was cosy, warm and very comfortable. We only brought one teenager with us but it would have been fine with two. The location is lovely - you can hear the waves and see the sea from the cottage and its just a short walk to the beach which is wild and unspoilt. The cottage is very well equipped - the first self-catering accommodation we have stayed in with a sandwich toaster and a slow cooker! We would definitely have used both if we had stayed longer. The only thing we missed was a spot light for reading in the evening. We would strongly recommend this cottage for an 'away from it all' break in a lovely part of Dorset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the level of warmth and comfort of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing