We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Newcourt Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newcourt Barn
Newcourt Barn 2 Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Newcourt Barn
Newcourt Barn 2
Living Area
Dining Table
Kitchen
Kitchen units
Gallary Landing
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
En-Suite Shower room
Bathroom
Outside seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Silverton, Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Veronica...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I was so pleased to find this beautiful property. We are house hunting in the area and wanted somewhere local, and also our Daughter lives in Silverton. Newcourt barn is delightful, beautifully and tastefully decorated, and very well equipped with the highest quality furnishings and kitchen utensils, and of course spotlessly clean. Now we have discovered this gem, once our house is under offer we hope to return and stay again while we look for a house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneRB
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely area.”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Barn advertised as 5 bed and I originally booked for 4, when I asked if I could add on a fifth guest as my son decided to join us but I was told no. Then contacted to say yes I could but at an extra £25 cost.
Arrived at barn with large spacious courtyard, met by owner and immediately told to move car to designated parking place, marked by a tiny sign saying Newcourt barn.
Nice accommodation, well furnished and very clean but upstairs is cramped with the sloping roofs.
Nice package for our dog with biscuit, blanket, towel etc.
The church is next to the property so be prepared for the bells to wake you up at 9 am on Sunday morning.
Pubs in Silverton were very empty with very little atmosphere.
The accommodation is well stocked with games, information book, DVDs and tea, coffee and milk.
Kitchen well equipped with everything you may need.
Check out notice for guests on cork board included -
Clean toilets , sinks, shower and bath
Clean toaster
Clean oven
Clean fridge
Clean all cutlery, pots and empty dishwasher
Clean microwave
Clean kitchen
Clean all floors
Empty all bins
Put towels in bath
Leave all items in kitchen clean etc.
Clean fire of all ashes
Etc etc
All this we adhered to and we recycled our rubbish as requested. We had to leave a few items in the dishwasher from breakfast as it had not finished its cycle by check out time.
Wi fi not working on Sunday.
Our friends had to park up in the village but lots of room for 2 cars at the barn, on last evening they couldn't even drive through entrance to drop us off and pick up their belongings as leaving on the Sunday. Spent the Monday morning cleaning, hoovering etc.
Kept our damage deposit, but wouldn't explain reason why.
We would have been happy to return again and again to this accommodation as perfect for meeting up with our friends on a twice yearly basis but it wasnt conducive to relaxation and we won't be returning and have found a nicer, less uptight place in Bicton.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spotless, cosy cottage - great for a peaceful holday.”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely cottage with very good facilities. Beautifully clean.
3 pubs in walking distance which all do very good food. Can also recommend the Chip Van which visits the village square on a Weds evening! Good location for exploring Devon: Exeter, Exmouth, Dartmoor.
Good walks nearby with fab views.
Owner helpful and friendly.
Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Turkenfeld, Germany
1 review
“Nice, clean and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We visited the Newcourt Barn Cottage in June. The cottage was absolutely brilliant. We love it! The accommodation looks like better in real as on photos. The landlord family was very nice and accommodating. The whole cottage was very nice, clean and comfortable.
We recommended the Newcourt Barn Cottage without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very clean and comfortable
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Devon”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage location suited us really well, set in a peaceful spot, but within easy walking distance of a well stocked village shop and pubs.
With just a short trip to Exeter, Tiverton and a little further to Barnstaple and North Devon, we were able to see most places on our list.
The accomodation was excellent, very clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated with attention to detail and good quality appliances which all worked !
We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend Newcourt Barn to anyone who wanted a quiet get-away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing