We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
USD 59
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
Agoda.comUSD 68
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
354
268
104
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
354
268
104
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petrol station service station executive room the ground floor excellent value for money buffet breakfast car park visiting family stayed here for one night night's sleep main course yogurt motorway mcdonalds bedroom corridor inns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Stayed here for a night. Easy to find from the A1 but very quiet. Lovely staff.
Room was spacious, modern and clean. Heat was easy to control. Nice modern bathroom and toiletries. Read comments about only one towel but easily remedied by going to Reception and because of Covid.
Breakfast was either continental or full English. Would have liked a choice for veggie or eggs scrambled/poached but that was my only gripe.
For the price, excellent value!! Also Jet petrol station has good selection of groceries and cheapest petrol for A1!! Will def stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ilovetravel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington North A1M, Jct.59, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Hi Ilovetravel1967,

Thank you for your recent review!

We do offer a vegetarian option for breakfast, apologies that this was not communicated to you on check in. Please do not hesitate to ask next time, nothing is too much trouble!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards,

Daniel Lawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Despite having very friendly and helpful staff our experience was very disappointing. The room was smokey, there was a lot of noise so much so that we had to move rooms, nor did we appreciate there’s the constant traffic on motorway outside hotel and there’s very little sound-proofing. Due to Covid you can only have cooked or bagged continental breakfast - no cereal for example yet you go and help yourself to cups/hot drinks etc. The hotel was clean yet only one towel per room unless you ask for more before you use the bathroom!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank clare k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington North A1M, Jct.59, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Hi clare K,

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all of your comments very seriously and will review them as a management team.

We operate on a minimal contact policy as you can appreciate during these times. This is all explained upon check in.

I do appreciate your kind comments about our friendly team.

Warm regards,

Daniel Lawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

The location was great easy to find. The staff we're all fantastic and we were made to feel welcome and covid safe. The rooms are very clean and large better than we thought for the low price we paid so great value for money. Large car park also a lovely cooked fresh breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate in booking there again. Thank you holiday inn. one Little thing that could be improved was the small dinner menu and the prices were a little steap. But over all a fantastic stay

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington North A1M, Jct.59, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Hi Vicky P,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards,

Daniel Lawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020

I appreciate that working through CoVid is challenging but our stay last night in a reasonably regular haunt was disappointing. With the inclusion of breakfast as part of the rate a casualty of the financial pressures on hospitality , I cannot understand why in a room booked for 2 people there were only towels for one nor a TV that would not switch off via the remote control nor a member of housekeeping walking into our bedroom before 8am without the typical courtesy of a knock and a cheery 'housekeeping'. These issues would all have been brought to the attention of the clerk at the Front Desk but on hearing him call my husband 'mate' a couple of times, I felt that perhaps we had a different appreciation of our respective roles.
As so many have indicated the staff here are usually lovely but this visit left me wondering if there has been some change in management or ownership.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JML525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington North A1M, Jct.59, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Hi JML525,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am disappointed with some of your comments, but please rest assured that we will investigate the concerns raised.

I do hope that this experience does not deter you from visiting us again.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Lawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with my 8 year old son, room was spotlessly clean, staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, check inn was efficient and quick. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and we felt 100% safe. Will definetly be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lisaray2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington North A1M, Jct.59, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Hi Lisaray2279,

Thank you for your 5* review!

During these difficult times, it's very encouraging to hear that you felt 100% safe with us.

I can speak on behalf of all of the team, when I say we are doing our best to ensure each and every one of our guests has a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards,

Daniel Lawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews