We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Our Typical Road Trip Stop”

Shady Acres Village
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Seminary
Price range: USD 5 - USD 12
Description: Our restaurant has a very casual feel with delicious southern cooking. We offer a wonderful plate lunch as well as old fashioned burgers, sandwiches and salads. Our desserts are made fresh right here in our own bakery. We also have an old timely General Store with fresh produce and lots of homemade jams and jellies, hand-dipped ice cream, a large assortment of t-shirts, cute apparel and some unique gift ideas.
Restaurant details
Description: Our restaurant has a very casual feel with delicious southern cooking. We offer a wonderful plate lunch as well as old fashioned burgers, sandwiches and salads. Our desserts are made fresh right here in our own bakery. We also have an old timely General Store with fresh produce and lots of homemade jams and jellies, hand-dipped ice cream, a large assortment of t-shirts, cute apparel and some unique gift ideas.
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We left Point Clear, Alabama thinking we would stop for breakfast somewhere around Hattiesburg, MS. However, once in the area, we didn't notice anyplace that appealed to us so we kept on driving. We initially passed Shady Acres Village noticing all the vehicles parked in front of a somewhat ramshackle few buildings. Since it was approaching lunchtime, we thought we'd stop and check it out. The people were friendly as was the overall ambience. The hot food section had ribs, chicken, and fish along with several sides dishes. I ordered roast chicken and my wife ordered ribs. I also had beans and mashed potatoes. The food was great, the price reasonable, and the people watching interesting. I am so glad we stopped here for lunch as it made our drive home so much more fun. I'd stop here again for the food or the experience.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank osimajorusaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha M, Owner at Shady Acres Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed you visit. Hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Blue plate lunches are excellent. Sausage and smoked ribs are perfectly done. Homemade desserts won’t disappoint. Nice gift shop area with to go food to take for the rest of your journey or back home!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank JPWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha M, Owner at Shady Acres Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Shady acres has great food,barbecue,lunch plates,ribs, country home style food. Also has souvenir shop with jams,jellies,pickled items,honey and other country theme and homegrown items. Fun place to stop to enjoy good good snd6 shop and relax in friendly atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank bubbastonetheegghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha M, Owner at Shady Acres Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you. We hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We usually stop for their burgers on our way thru to the beach but at today's stop I decided the get the smoked chicken that smelled so good! I was not disappointed! It was very juicy and had the right amount of smoke. I also opted for the sweet potatoes and butter beans and they also were delicious! I have yet to have anything bad there. It's also a fun place to just look around the gift shop and nursery.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Larryasmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha M, Owner at Shady Acres Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Awe Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Awesome store, very fun to walk arpund from. Had the burger and Froed Chicken and both were great. Great place to stop at.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Maps644351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha M, Owner at Shady Acres Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for stopping with us. Glad you enjoyed everything. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shady Acres Village also viewed

 

Been to Shady Acres Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing